Tools & Resources
Quick listings: Books
The following list uses subject 'tags' in the bibliographic records to pull up lists of books on specific subjects in our collections. Click on one of the subject headings to see a list of relevant titles:
Noteworthy Site
Explore the lives of men and women in the Muslim world – from the sixteenth century to now – through their autobiographical writings. Writings are by Muslims and non-Muslims living in various social, cultural and political contexts. The authors range from scholars, saints and socio-religious reformers to princes, bureaucrats, nationalists, educators, writers and actors. Browse by category, region, time or name.
Noteworthy Sites
Digital Islam
Reserch on Middle East, Islam and digital media.
Euro-Islam.info
Euro-Islam.info is an active network of researchers and scholars who conduct comparative research on Islam and Muslims in the West and disseminate key information to politicians, media, and the public. Sponsored by GSRL Paris/CNRS France and Harvard University, the Euro-Islam research network consists of over forty researchers and hosts over 50,000 unique visitors each month. The site is recognized in political and media circles as the most reliable online reference for Islam in Europe.
EURISLAM: a bibliographical database on Islam in Europe
EURISLAM is an open access database available to all but designed especially for academics, public organisations and officials. It indexes publications concerning two major aspects of Islam in geographical Europe: the current state of Muslim populations in European societies (minority groups, immigration issues, leadership, institutions, public policies, trends, etc.) and Islam as religion (beliefs, practices, values, movements and schools of thought, etc.). The database contains reviews of press articles, books, contributions to collective publications, studies and reports, theses and grey literature. Currently, more than 4,300 references are consultable free of charge in French or English
New Report
U.S.-Muslim Engagement Project in affiliation with the Search for Common Ground (SFCG) organization released a report entitled: "Changing Course: A New Direction for U.S. Relations with the Muslim World."
The report "represents the consensus of an exceptionally diverse, senior, bipartisan and inter-faith group of 34 American leaders who have worked together over the last 18 months. Their work was supported by Search for Common Ground and CBI, two organizations that specialize in building consensus on controversial public issues."
Key Online Reference & Databases
Online Reference Works:
- Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought
- Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an
- Cambridge Companion to Muhammad
- The Cambridge History of Egypt
- The Cambridge History of Iran
- The Cambridge History of Islam
- The Cambridge History of Turkey
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)
- Crusade Encyclopedia (free)
- Encyclopædia Iranica
- Encyclopædia of Islam
- Encyclopædia of the Qur'ān
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS)
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Article Databases:
- ATLA Religion Database
- Historical Abstracts
- Index Islamicus
- JSTOR
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS)
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Bibliographies:
- Skreslet, Paula Youngman.
- The literature of Islam : a guide to the primary sources in English translation .
Lanham, Maryland : Scarecrow Press, Inc. : American Theological Library Association, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room Z7835.M6 S585 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: The Qur'an: text and translation -- The traditions: Hadith -- Exegesis of the Qur'an: tafsir -- Law and legal theory: shari'a and fiqh -- History and historiography: ta'rikh -- Philosophy: falsafa -- Theology: kalam -- Spirituality and mysticism: tasawwuf -- Appendix: anthologies.
Related Guide: Muslims in America
Free Online Islamic Studies Resources
These webpages were constructed for an online virtual seminar conducted in 2002-2003 by Bruce Lawrence and Daniel Varisco as a pilot project of the SSRC. Since then they have been updated annually.
- Almisbah - Database of Online Resources
- altafsir.com
- Arabic Newspapers
- BBC Religions: Islam
- BBC Religions: Sharia
- Hadith Explorer
- Islamic Multimedia
- Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon
- The Koran (M.H. Shakir's Translation)
- MENALIB (Germany)
- Muslim Students Association, Duke University
- Muslim Students Association - National
- Muslim Students Association, University of Buffalo, NY
- Quran Explorer
- Tafseer al-Mizan
- Tanzil.info Search Quran in Arabic
- Virtual Religion Index - Islamic Studies
Date Converters/Calendars
- Conversion of Coptic and Julian Dates (Zurich U.)
- Conversion of Islamic and Christian Dates (Zurich U.)
- Convert Gregorian or Julian Dates to Hijri Dates
- Convert Hijri Dates to Gregorian or Julian Dates
- Gregorian-Hijri Date Converter (Islamic Finder)
- Gregorian-Hijri Dates Converter (Waleed Muhanna)
- Gregorian-Hijri Year Converter (MENALIB)
- Iranian (Jalali) Calendar Converter
- Ansari, Shahabuddin.
- Interchanging Muslim and Christian era dates : a handbook of precisely synchronizing Hijrah era dates with the Christian era dates and vice versa from 60 B.H. to 2100 A.H. (564 A.D. to 2659 A.D.), together with to ascertain the day of the week of any pre-Hijrah, post-Hijrah, Julilan and Gregorian calendar dates.
Kanpur: Islamic Research Centre in arrangement with B.R. Pub. Corp., Delhi, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room CE59 .A573 2008 Check availability @ Duke
- Melville, Charles.
- "The Chinese-Uighur Animal Calendar in Persian Historiography of the Mongol Period."
In: Iran , Vol. 32, (1994), pp. 83-98.
Article Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/4299907 (Duke only)
- Unat, Faik Reşit.
- Hicrı̂ tarihleri milâdı̂ tarihe çevirme kılavuzu.
Ankara: Türk Tarih Kurumu Basımevi, 1974.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room CE59 .U5 1974 Check availability @ Duke
- Wüstenfeld, Ferdinand and Bertold Spuler.
- Vergleichungs-Tabellen zur muslimischen und iranischen Zeitrechung mit Tafeln zur Umrechnung orient-christlicher Ären.3rd ed.
Mainz: Deutsche Morgenländische Gesellschaft; in Kommission bei F. Steiner, Wiesbaden, 1961.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room CE15 .W8 1961 Check availability @ Duke
Duke Blogs and Podcasts
Primary Sources
- Abu-Rabi', Ibrahim M. (ed.)
- The contemporary Arab reader on political Islam.
Edmonton: University of Alberta Press, 2010.
Divinity School Library BP173.7 .C65 2010 Check availability @ Duke
Part I. Toward a Theoretical Appreciation of Islamism in the Contemporary Arab World 1. Salafism is a Blessed Historical Phase Rather Than an Islamic Legal School (Muhammad Sa'id Ramadan al-Buti) 2. Toward a Unified and Universal Islamic Movement (Fathi Yakan) 3. Towards a Modern Islamic Perspective Declaration of Principles (Ahmad Kamal Abu'l Majd) 4. Women Between the People of Hadith and the People of Fiqh (Muhammad al-Ghazali) Part II. Islamism, Jihad, and Martyrdom 5. The Birth of 'Afghan-Arabs': An Algerian Perspective (Abdullah Anas) 6. What Jihad Has Taught Me! (Abdullah Azzam) 7. Jihad in Islam: How to Understand and Practice it? (Muhammad Sa'id Ramadan al-Buti) 8. Islam and the Question of Power (Sayyid Muhammad Hussain Fadlallah) Part III. Islamism and the Question of Israel/Palestine 9. Islam and Zionism (Ismail R. Faruqi) 10. From Basel to Oslo: Zionism and the Islamic Narrative (Mustafa Abu Sway) 11. Palestine/Lebanon], The Role of the Israeli Lobby (Mohsen Saleh) Part IV. Contemporary Islamism: Trends and Self-Criticism 12. Islam Between Ignorant Followers and Incapable Scholars (Abdul Qadir Awdah) 13. The Islamic Movement and the Contemporary Challenges (Ramadan Abdallah Shallah) 14. On the Present Rulers in the Muslim World (Umar Abdel Rahman) 15. The Islamic Movement and Contemporary Crises: An Assessment and Correction (Sami al-Arian) 16. Islamic Movements: Self-Criticism and Reconsideration (Rashid Ghannoushi) 17. Islamic Awakening Between Rejection and Extremism (Yusuf al-Qaradawi) 18. The Islamic Movement: Hopes and Aspirations (Jamil Hamami) Part V. Islamism, the West, the United States and 9/11 19. Imperialism and the Contemporary Muslim world (Abdel Wahab al-Masiri) 20. Islamists and the West: From Confrontation to Cooperation (Ahmad Bin Yousuf) 21. Islam and the Challenges of Contemporary Decline (Munir Shafiq) 22. Transformation of the Islamic Movement and the Current American Strategy (Kamal Habib) 23. The United States and Islamism: Before and After 9/11 (Yasser Za'atira) 24. Muslim Youth and the West: Between Original and Contemporary Values (Muhammad Hussain Fadlallah) Part VI. Islamism in the Contemporary Arab World 25. Islam and Saudi Paganism (Fahd al-Qahtani) 26. Conclusive Evidences for the Illegality of the Saudi State (Muhammad al-Masa'ari) 27. How to Revive Islamic Caliphate? (Abdel Qadim Zalloum) 28. Recent Changes in the Arab-Islamist Movements (Zaki Ahmad) 29. The Islamic Movement in Morocco: Resurgence or Decline? (Ahmad al-Raysouni) 30. The Syrian Muslim Brotherhood (Shaykh Ali al-Bayanuni) 31. The Future of Islamist Work: The Islamist Movement in the Context of International Transformations and the Gulf Crisis (Ishaq al-Farhan) 32. Islamist Political Parties in Contemporary Algeria (Yahia H. Zoubir) 33. The Islamic Movement in the Gulf Region (Sami Abdallah) 34. The Islamic Movement in Modern Iraq, Sunni Dimension (Tarik Hamdi Al-Azami) 35. The Ideational World and Its Impressed and Expressed Ideas (Malik Bennabi)
- Aḥmad, Azīz.
- Muslim self-statement in India and Pakistan 1857-1968.
Wiesbaden, O. Harrassowitz, 1970.
Divinity School Library BP63.I4 A96 1970 Check availability @ Duke
- Alagha, Joseph Elie.
- Hizbullah's documents : from the 1985 open letter to the 2009 manifesto.
Amsterdam: Pallas Publications, [2011]
Perkins/Bostock Library JQ1828.A98 H6138 2011 Check availability @ Duke - Summary: Compilation and translation into English of the original primary documents in Arabic. Includes: the party's 1985 Open Letter; its eight clandestine conclaves from 1989 to 2009; all of its legislative and municipal election programs from 1992 to 2010; all the agreements, understandings, and pacts the party has ratified over the years; its 2009 Political Manifesto.
- Archive Editions.
- Records of the Hajj : a documentary history of the pilgrimage to Mecca.
London: Archive Editions, 1993.
Divinity School Library BP187.3 .R44 1993 v.1-10 Check availability @ Duke - Table of Contents: v. 1. Pilgrim prayers, invocations, and rites -- v. 2. The early caliphal, Mamluk, and Ottoman periods (630-1814)-- v. 3. The Ottoman period (1814-1887) -- v. 4. The Ottoman period (1888-1915) -- v. 5. The Hashimite period (1916-1925) -- v. 6. The Saudi period (1926-1935) -- v. 7. The Saudi period (1935-1951) -- v. 8. The Saudi period (since 1952)--v. 9. Health affairs and the Hajj -- v. 10. Documents and maps (7 on folded leaves in bookcase).
- Bin Laden, Osama, 1957-2011.
- Messages to the world : the statements of Osama Bin Laden.
London: New York: Verso, 2005.
Divinity School Library HV6433.I742 Q35 2005 2 copies
Perkins/Bostock Library HV6433.I742 Q35 2005 3 copies Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Introduction / by Bruce Lawrence -- From Sudan, 1994-1995. The betrayal of Palestine. The invasion of Arabia -- In Khurasan, 1996-1998. Declaration of jihad. The Saudi regime. From Somalia to Afghanistan. The world Islamic front -- Towards 9/11, 1998-2001. A Muslim bomb. Under Mullah Omar. To our brothers in Pakistan. The winds of faith. Terror for terror -- War in Afghanistan, 2001-2002. Crusader wars. The example of Vietnam. Nineteen students. To the people of Afghanistan. To the Americans. To the allies of America -- War in Iraq, 2003-2004. To the people of Iraq. Among a band of knights. Quagmires of the Tigris and Euphrates. Resist the new Rome. To the peoples of Europe. The towers of Lebanon. Depose the tyrants.
- Burdett, Anita L.P. (ed.)
- Islamic movements in the Arab world, 1913-1966.
London: Archive Editions, 1998.
Perkins/Bostock Library BP173.7 .I7 1998 v.1-v.4 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: v. 1. 1913-1924 -- v. 2. 1925-1933 -- v. 3. 1934-1948 -- v. 4. 1949-1966.
- Calvert, John.
- Islamism : a documentary and reference guide. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.
Divinity School Library BP161.3 .C35 2008 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: "The land of those who reside in paradise" -- Zarqawi's letter. Dialogue of civilizations -- "The people of the region are becoming increasingly angry" -- The near enemy -- The modern jahiliyya -- "What immorality could allow this kind of behavior?" -- The neglected duty -- "Islam needs a country that protects its creed" -- "The junta is pursuing the path of evil" -- Islamism in Saudi Arabia -- "We are calling for sweeping reform in our people's affairs" -- The betrayal of palestine -- A Saudi oppositionists view -- "The state of Saudi Arabia is facing a dire crisis" -- The liberation of Muslim lands -- "The entire Islamic land is like a single country" -- "We were looking for jihad" -- "The movement's program is Islam" -- "A ruling pertaining to the participation of Palestinians in government institutions in the occupied land" -- Global jihad -- Declaration of jihad -- Jihad against Jews and crusaders -- Knights under the prophet's banner -- "Muslims can legitimately kill disbelievers" -- "Physical fitness of the mujahid" --^ Islamist movements and thinkers -- The founding of the Muslim brotherhood -- Goals and strategies of the Muslim Brotherhood -- The need for islamic leadership -- The primacy of the shari'a -- From Arabism to Islamism -- Islamism, democracy, and the limits of freedom -- "Impious democratic dogma" -- Representative government in Islam -- An Islamist view of the media -- Women and family life in Islamist discourses -- "When Islam prohibits something, it closes all the avenues of approach to it" -- "Woman has been guaranteed complete equality with man" -- "Muslim sister-- show your pride!" -- The need for ijtihad -- Social and economic justice -- Mutual responsibility -- Our economy -- "The goal of Islam is to eliminate misery" -- "Islam distinguishes between the property of the state and collective property" -- The Iranian revolution -- "The shahid is always alive and present" -- "The awaited savior" -- "Laws and social institutions require the existence of an executor"
- Euben, Roxanne Leslie and Muhammad Qasim Zaman (eds.).
- Princeton readings in Islamist thought : texts and contexts from al-Banna to Bin Laden.
Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2009.
Perkins/Bostock Library BP163 .P72 2009 Check availability @ Duke
Chapter 1. Introduction (p. 1) Part I. Islamism: An Emergent Worldview Chapter 2. (Hasan al-Banna) (p. 49) Toward the Light (p. 56) Chapter 3. (Sayyid Abu'l-A'la Mawdudi) (p. 79) The Islamic Law (p. 86) Chapter 4. (Sayyid Abu'l-Hasan 'Ali Nadwi) (p. 107) Muslim Decadence and Revival (p. 112) Chapter 5. (Sayyid Qutb) (p. 129) Signposts along the Road (p. 136) In the Shade of the Qur'an (p. 145) Part II. Remaking the Islamic State Chapter 6. (Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini) (p. 155) Islamic Government (p. 163) Chapter 7. (Muhammad Bagir al-Sadr) (p. 181) The General Framework of the Islamic Economy (p. 186) Chapter 8. (Hasan al-Turabi) (p. 207) The Islamic State (p. 213) Chapter 9. (Yusuf al-Qaradawi) (p. 224) Islam and Democracy (p. 230) Part III. Islamism and Gender Chapter 10. (Murtaza Mutahhari) (p. 249) The Human Status of Woman in the Qur'an (p. 254) Chapter 11. (Zaynab al-Ghazali) (p. 275) An Islamist Activist (p. 283) From Days of My Life, chapter 2 (p. 288) Chapter 12. (Nadia Yassine) (p. 302) Modernity, Muslim Women, and Politics in the Mediterranean (p. 311) Part IV. Violence, Action, and Jihad Chapter 13. (Muhammad 'Abd al-Salam Faraj) (p. 321) The Neglected Duty (p. 327) Chapter 14. ('Umar 'Abd al-Rahman) (p. 344) The Present Rulers and Islam: Are They Muslims or Not? (p. 350) Chapter 15. (Hamas) (p. 356) Charter of the Islamic Resistance Movement (Hamas) of Palestine (p. 364) Chapter 16. (Muhammad Husayn Fadlallah) (p. 387) Islamic Unity and Political Change (p. 394) September 11th, Terrorism, Islam, and the Intifada (p. 403) Chapter 17. The Taliban (p. 409) A New Layeha for the Mujahidin (p. 415) An Interview with a Taliban Commander (p. 418) Part V. Globalizing Jihad Chapter 18. (Usama bin Laden) (p. 425) Declaration of War against the Americans Occupying the Land of the Two Holy Places (p. 436) Chapter 19. (Muhammad 'Ata al-Sayyid) (p. 460) Final Instructions (p. 466) Glossary (p. 473) Bibliography (p. 479) Index (p. 501)
Islamic Studies Open Access Repositories
Manuscripts:
- Bibliothèque Nationale du Royaume du Maroc - Manuscripts
- Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) - Harvard
- Islamic Manuscripts - Cambridge Digital Library
- Islamic Manuscripts Collection, Princeton University
- Islamic Manuscripts Collection, Princeton University: Shahnama
- Islamic Manuscripts from Mali (LC)
- Islamic Seals Database (Chester Beatty Library)
- King Saud University - Makhtota Manuscripts Library
- National Library of Medicine - Islamic Medical Manuscripts
- Shahnama Project, Cambridge University
- Tombouctou Manuscript Project
- Wellcome Arabic Manuscripts Online
- Yemeni Manuscript Digitization Initiative (Princeton)
- For more open acces manuscript collections, see:
AMIR Alphabetical list of Open Access Islamic Manuscripts Collections
Digital Libraries:
Periodicals:
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Email christof.galli@duke.edu 227 Bostock Library Phone: (919) 660-5850 Fax: (919) 668-3134 Links: Profile & Guides |
Islamic Studies Theses
Researchers and librarians working in Islamic Studies will now for the first time have online access to more than 900 Ph.D theses in Islamic Studies, spanning over ten years. JISC, The Academy and The British Library have combined their resources to bring together Islamic Studies theses from universities across the UK and Ireland. More...







Loading...
