China Christian Colleges and Universities Image Database
This database provides detailed description and more than 7,500 digital images of photographs and films held in the archives of the United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia and the Lingnan University Board of Trustees, which are held at the Yale Divinity Library. The database is an important resource for the study of education, medical work, architecture, and society in China during the first half of the twentieth century.
This collection consists of photographs from manuscript and archival collections held at the Divinity Library. Currently the photographs in this collection relate primarily to missions and world Christianity. They include the Divinity Library's contributions to the International Mission Photography Archive hosted by the University of Southern California, as well as photographs previously delivered by the Library's China Colleges and Universities Image Database. The photographs date from 1855 to 1978.
The Yale Silk Road Database presents over 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan (Professor, History of Art) under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2010. Photographs included in this collection were taken during faculty site seminars in Gansu, Ningxia, and Xinjiang Provinces in 2006, seminars in Sichuan and Yunnan during the summer of 2007, visits to Liao Dynasty sites in Shanxi, Liaoning, Hebei, and Inner Mongolia during the summer of 2008, a program along the Tarim Basin and in northern Xinjiang during the summer of 2009, and a program for educators in Gansu, Qinghai, Sichuan, and Tibet Extension during the summer of 2010.
The project provides access to first hand accounts and photographs from Westerners who remained in Nanking after the Japanese invasion. These resources do not provide a comprehensive understanding of what occurred in Nanjing during 1937-1938, but the observations made by these men and women provide an important historical lens to complement additional research.
Peter Parker's Lam Qua Paintings Collection & Peter Parker Papers
Peter Parker, medical missionary and diplomat to China, Parker attended Yale College, graduating in 1831, and remained in New Haven to study theology and medicine, earning his M.D. from the Medical Institution of Yale College in 1834. In January of the same year he was ordained to the Presbyterian ministry in Philadelphia, one month before departing for Canton as the first Protestant medical missionary to China. One year after his arrival, with assistance from American and British benefactors, he opened the Ophthalmic Hospital at Canton. Parker specialized in treating diseases of the eye, particularly cataracts, but also performed general surgical operations including the removal of tumors. He is probably best known for the introduction of anesthesia to China in the form of sulphuric ether. Parker worked with Lam Qua, the Western trained Chinese painter, who did portraits of patients at the Canton Hospital with large tumors or other major deformities.
Chinese Rare Books at Yale database
The Chinese Rare Books at Yale database aggregates information about Chinese rare books and manuscripts held in the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library. There are 439 works represented in the database and each record contains extensive bibliographic data and notes, an image of the first page of the text, and a link to the catalog record in Orbis, Yale’s online catalog. The database is intended to provide enhanced access to Yale’s holdings of Chinese books published prior to the end of the reign of the Qianlong Emperor in 1796. Two rare editions from the Republican period are also included. The records can be accessed by dynasty for a chronological overview.
Illustrations of China and its people
This four-volume collection of photographs by John Thomson (1837-1921) has been digitized in its entirety by the Beinecke Library. The photographs were taken between 1868 and 1872. They document all aspects of Chinese life.
China, Circa 1939 - circa 1945 (War Poster Collection)
The collection consists of posters published in nations involved in World War I, 1914-1918, the Spanish Civil War, and World War II, 1939-1945. Great Britain, the United States, France, Germany, Italy, Russia, Canada, Australia, Ireland and other nations are represented through posters depicting such diverse topics as recruitment, enlistment, conservation, war loans, civilian service, home relief, foreign relief and propaganda messages. Posters issued by government agencies, social organizations, and private concerns are included.
American Baptist missionary in South China from 1918 to 1937 and 1946 to 1953
Ellison and Lottie Hildreth Papers
American Baptist missionaries in South China 1913-1937
American Baptist missionary in South China from 1888.
Papers of the first Chinese citizen to graduate from an American college, 1854, founder of the Chinese Educational Mission in Hartford, and representative of the Chinese government.
Collection of 70 hand-tinted lantern slides of the Great Wall of China made by Hayes and the explorer, William Edgar Geil, circa 1912.
Frederick Townsend Ward Papers
The papers consist of correspondence and documents related to Frederick Townsend Ward's role as commanding officer of the "Ever Victorious Army" which helped crush the Taiping Rebellion in China (1850-1864).
Samuel Wells Williams Family Papers
Family papers of a missionary, diplomat, and Sinologue who spent almost forty years in China. At a missionary press in Macao, he translated Chinese texts and compiled A Syllabic Dictionary of the Chinese Language. He also wrote The Middle kingdom; a survey of the ... Chinese empire and its inhabitants ... in 1848 which he and his son Frederick Wells (1857-1928) revised in 1883. From 1856 to 1876 Samuel Wells was the secretary and interpreter to the American legation in China. He also accompanied Commodore Matthew C. Perry in 1853 and 1854 to negotiate trade relations between Japan and the western world. In 1876 he moved to Yale College where he was appointed the first professor of Chinese language and literature in the United States. Frederick Wells (Yale 1879) taught Central Asian, Indian, and East Asian history at Yale from 1893 to 1925.
Yale-China Association Records
Records documenting the founding and operations of the Yale Foreign Missionary Society and its successors, including the present day Yale-China Association. Included are administrative records, photographs, movies, and printed materials.
The papers include photographs, 1950s, of the Hakka and Tonka people of Hong Kong and Chinese art as well as research notes on Chinese literature, culture, and linguistics.
Japanese Manuscript Collection
The Japanese Manuscript Collection was acquired by Kan'ichi Asakawa, the first curator of the Yale East Asian collection, during a buying trip in 1906-1907. In certain respects, these materials complement the collection of manuscripts in the Library of Congress since Asakawa was purchasing materials for LC during the same trip. All of the works pertaining to Buddhism and the history of Japanese thought were allocated to LC, while Yale's purchases related to the study of medieval history including such topics as the legal system, military and commercial law, martial arts, and foreign affairs. While many of the manuscripts in the collection are originals, approximately sixty works were transcribed for Yale from originals or good copies. The entire collection consists of over 558 titles in 1,200 volumes and dates from the 17th to the early 20th century.
Yale Association of Japan (YAJ) Collection
The Yale Association of Japan Collection was assembled in the 1930s by University of Tokyo historian Katsumi Kuroita and presented to Yale by the Association in 1934. It contains approximately 356 titles ranging from manuscripts, sutras, calligraphy, and books to maps and art objects and was selected with the goal of illustrating the development of Japanese culture. It includes materials dating from the 8th century to the 20th century. The collection includes original documents from Tōdaiji dating from 1055, original records of the cadastral survey of Nishi Kamo compiled by order of Hideyoshi in 1586 and 1589, a collection of Tekagami, containing calligraphy samples from famous people produced between the 8th and 17th centuries, three copies of Ise monogatari dating from the 15th to the 17th centuries, and 12th century copies of the Hokekyō written in gold on indigo paper. It also includes examples of ōraibon (including a 17th century Teikin ōrai), meisho zue, Nara ehon, and many other genres.
Day Missions Collection from Divinity Library: Annual Reports and Periodicals
The Day Missions Collection developed from a core of materials donated by Professor George Edward Day in 1891. The collection originally focused on institutional histories, missionary biography, the annual reports of missionary societies, periodicals, and works prepared by missionaries for the use of the peoples of mission fields, as well as related literature in areas such as ethnology, geography, comparative religions, and linguistics. The Annual Reports list and database. The Periodicals list and database.
The Henry A. Kissinger Papers, Parts II and III
The papers consist of correspondence, memoranda, writings, speeches, photographs and other material that document the career of the diplomat, author and foreign policy expert and scholar Henry A. Kissinger. Dr. Kissinger served as United States secretary of state from 1973 to 1977 and as assistant to the president for national security affairs (national security advisor) from 1969 to 1975. Part I, housed in the Library of Congress, consists of materials primarily documenting Dr. Kissinger’s government career and includes copies of records from his government service.
The Ten Thousand Rooms Project
The Ten Thousand Rooms Project (廣廈千萬間項目) is a collaborative workspace for pre-modern textual studies being developed at Yale University with the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Building on the Mirador Viewer developed by Stanford University, the platform allows users to upload images of manuscript, print, inscriptional, and other sources and then organize projects around their transcription, translation, and/or annotation.
The Kan'ichi Asakawa Epistolary Network Project
Kani'chi Asakawa (1873-1948) was the first professor of Japanese history and the head of the East Asia Library at Yale. Asakawa was an influential scholar in the field of comparative feudalism and the close contact with many of Japan's most prominent public figures. By visually delineating the relationships of Asakawa and many intellectuals and public figures over the globe, the project will be beneficial to researchers who are interested in not only Asakawa, but other important figures in Japan and the world during the first half of the 19th century.
