Perry in Japan: A visual history
Cross-cultural evaluation of Perry's encounter with the Japanese, including 13 scroll painting and some books.
Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923
Photographs taken by William Dana Reynolds of the devastating 1923 earthquake in Yokohama. The collection contains around 200 photographs and a small number of newspaper clippings and other ephemera related to the event.
Japanese LGBTQ+ Magazines
Collection of magazines published in Japan by and for the LGBTQ+ communities. The collection currently consists of 25 periodicals published between 1952 to 2019. It includes several rare titles of members-only publications, community magazines for crossdressers as well as magazines of sexual customs that predate Japan's first commercially circulated gay magazine Barazoku.
Cuban Slavery documents
Documents including letters, contracts and certificates related to the slaves and indentured servants in Cuba, 1820-1892. Many (31 out of 126) refer to Chinese indentured servants and contract laborers brought to Cuba.
Depicting Glory: Rare Objects from the Late Qing to the Republic of China
A digital project that presents a group of rare items in Brown University's special collections, mostly dated from China's late Qing Dynasty, but also maps produced in Taiwan in the 1960s. It includes research articles written by some leading scholars in their fields and a Brown student as well.
Imperial strategies for suppressing uprisings in seven provinces – in illustration = 钦定剿平七省方略图说
Photographs (albumen prints) of text and illustrations of the Qing government suppression of rebellions in China in the 19th century.
Historical Maps and Coins in China
This is a collection of distinctive and unusual historical scrolls, maps, and posters found in Brown University Rockefeller Library’s East Asian Collection. Some notable items in the collection include: a set of undated historical maps produced in Taiwan (most likely created during the 1950s or 1960s), a set of three undated over-sized posters originally in scroll form (most liked from the final years of the Qing dynasty), and an Imperial Qing dynasty map (dated 1814).
Chinese Dictionary with Manuscript Notes in Latin
