The Photographic Archive digital collection presents digital facsimiles of original documentary images in the University of Chicago Archives. Photographs related with China, Japan and Korea can be found by searching as keywords.
Asian Cities - Late 19th- and early 20th-century maps
Late 19th- and early 20th-century sheet maps of Asian (or partly Asian) cities that are held at the University of Chicago Library's Map Collection. Several of the cities portrayed in these maps are now among the world's largest, but they were all much smaller places during the years when the maps were compiled.
Starr, Frederick. Papers, 1868-1935
Contains professional and personal correspondence; research material; field notebooks; diaries; class lecture notes; memorabilia; photographs; bibliographies; and scrapbooks. Correspondents include Frank Boas, W.E.B. Du Bois, Federico Gamboa, William Rainey Harper, John Haynes Holmes, Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Julius Rosenwald, and Albion Small.
Yoshitoyo, Ichiryusai. Mashin teate kiho no ben, Makiyama Sensei demp 1800s
Handwritten text in Japanese, "About the special way to treat the measles; Dr. Makiyama's remedy." Illustrated with colored woodcut. Includes typescript translation of text from Japanese into English.
Dispersed Chinese Art Digitization Project
In the late nineteenth and early part of the twentieth century, countless East Asian works of art were removed from their historical places of origin and dispersed around the world. Launched in 2019, the Dispersed Chinese Art Digitization Project (DCADP), seeks to document, preserve, and digitally restore artifacts taken from important cultural sites in China, placing them back into their original historical and spatial contexts.
DCADP currently has 3 main projects: Tianlongshan Caves, Xiangtanshan Caves, and East Asian Scroll Painting Project
The images found here in the North Korean Stamp Collection provide a valuable window into shifting politics and culture of North Korea and a different perspective of the nation’s historical place in the modern world. The collection is composed of about 2,000 images from 20 stamp books and 30 individual sheets. The dates of origin span over several decades (1962 to 2017) and a striking variety of subject areas. These subjects include: National figures and symbols, Military, Worker’s Party of Korea, Tourist sites, National heritage and Folklore, Traditional and European Art, Animals and Plants.
The Chicago Shimpo newspaper [シカゴ新報]] is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit newspaper that was first published by Ryoichi Fujii on November 15, 1945 to serve over 20,000 thousand Nikkei residents who resettled in Chicago after their release from incarceration camps at the end of the Pacific War. It is the only Japanese-American newspaper in the Chicago media market.
Digital Collection: Center for the Art of East Asia
The digital collections of the Center for the Art of East Asia at the University of Chicago is a dynamic platform that archives various research and born-digital materials compiled by the center’s faculty and affiliated scholars. It advances the study of the art and visual culture of East Asia through its accessible features to a wide spectrum of audiences. Visitors can explore the full collection of different projects or search for specific items and related images. Longmen Binyang Central Cave, Six Horses of Tang Taizong, and Guangsheng Temple Murals, are a few of the collections available on this platform.
