China: Culture and Society, Wason pamphlet collection
Commercially published by Adam Matthew, the pamphlets, are mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929, and amounting to around 1,200 items in 220 bound volumes, these rare pamphlets form part of one of the deepest and most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world and constitute a rich resource for scholars and teachers in numerous disciplines.
A collection of online books, in searchable, downloadable format. These titles were originally published in the Cornell East Asia Series, many back when the program was called the China-Japan Program and the series title was the East Asia Papers.
The Wen Pulin Archive of Chinese Avant Garde Art
The archive contains some 360 hours of digital video documenting the history of contemporary Chinese art, installation, and performance since 1985, providing documentation of the important developments in contemporary art in China 1985-2002.
Japanese woodblock print materials : knowledge of the world in the early modern period
This collection of books and maps includes materials on Dutch learning, the introduction, prohibition and re-introduction of Christianity in Japan, Japan's late 16th century war with Korea; depiction of events in 19th century China, and the clash of cultures when Japan was opened for international trade.
Japanese woodblock print materials : theatrical prints and books from early modern period
A combination of books and single sheet prints from a private collection, this collection documents the roles of theater in literature, visual culture and daily life in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Willard Dickerman Straight and Early U.S.-Korea Diplomatic Relations
Willard Straight is an avid, well-trained photographer, sketcher and recorder. He took about 380 photographs and painted a very small number of sketches during his two spells in Korea in 1904 and 1905. The online project selects about 200 of these and amounts to a visual and contextual narrative of Korea at a most critical juncture in its mre recent, modern history. The image collection also includes Japanese postcards (some of them hand-colored) on Korean customs.
Knowledge of the World in Early Modern Japan
For the majority of the period covered in this database (17th to 19th centuries), scholars have traditionally characterized Japan as a “closed country” (sakoku). In recent decades, however, much research has challenged conventional assumptions regarding Japan’s “isolation,” revealing how closely its ruling clan and intellectuals followed events and the fundamentals of knowledge in other parts of the world. Far more than just curiosities, these books represented Japan’s initial attempts to understand the west and modernize itself accordingly, and are therefore of importance in understanding the formation of modern Japan.
Theatre Prints and Books from Early Modern Japan
The materials on Japanese theater gathered in this archive derive from three distinct collections: the William Elliot Griffis Collection, given to Cornell in 1914; the Maeda Ai Collection, acquired by the library in 1998; and a private, Ithaca-area collection that has been made available on request to the University for research, exhibition or teaching purposes. The library materials consist of woodblock printed books on the theater, from the eighteenth through late nineteenth century, while the bulk of the private collection is single sheet prints, from the same period.
The Chinese Students’ Monthly is the first magazine published by Chinese students in the United States from 1906-1931. This publication became the official organ of the enlarged Chinese student organization, the Chinese Students’ Alliance in the US.
