Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music and Performing Arts
The Garland encyclopedia of world music online
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples, providing an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
International Index to Music Periodicals
Covers nearly all aspects of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest trends, including classical music, pop and popular music, rock, rap and hip-hop, blues, jazz, traditional and folk music, world music, music equipment and technology, recording techniques and technology, and the music, radio, and music video industries.
International Index to Performing Arts
Covers music (including opera), dance, film, drama, theater, stage design and puppetry.
RILM abstracts of music literature
Includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes, provided the items are of scholarly interest. Subject areas include: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields. Covers 1967 to present.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
Covers journals published 1800-1950. Rather Eurocentric
Art, Art History and Visual Studies
Oxford Art Online
Amalgam of art reference sources, including dictionaries (Oxford Companion to World Art), an image database (Bridgeman Archive), Encyclopedia (Dictionary of Art) and other resources. Excellent starting point for art research.
JAANUS Japanese Architecture and Art
This dictionary contains approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868).
AP Images is one of the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery with millions of images dating back more than 100 years.
Provides access to a large collection of images covering art, architecture, and archaeology for many time periods and cultures.
Images Collections for Duke Users
Guide to free and purchased collections of images. Also provides information on fair use, copyright and scanning.
Librarians for Art History, Film and Music