New & Noteworthy
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (Chinese, traditional)
This full text article database covers many of the journals published in Taiwan in humanities and social sciences.
China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database (Chinese & English)
Key Reference Titles
General:
- Encyclopedia of Modern China (online)
- Cambridge encyclopedia of China
- Brill's encyclopedia of China
- Berkshire encyclopedia of China (online)
- 中华人民共和国年鉴
- 中華民國年鑒(online)
Subject Specific:
- Architecture:
A visual dictionary of Chinese architecture - Culture:
Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture
Cambridge companion to modern Chinese culture - Film:
Encyclopedia of Chinese film
Historical dictionary of Hong Kong cinema - Foreign Relations:
Encyclopedia of Chinese-American relations
Historical dictionary of United States-China relations - History:
The Cambridge history of China
Historical dictionary of Hong Kong & Macau
Historical dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
China in European Encyclopedias, 1700-1850 - Law:
Encyclopedia of Chinese law - Politics:
Dictionary of the political thought of the P. R. China
Dictionary of the politics of the P. R. China - Philosophy/Religion:
Daoism handbook
Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
Key Databases
Databases that have resources on China are available in English or bilingual. Depending on the topic you're searching, you can often start with Bibliography of Asian Studies and combine with a relevant subject database
- ARTstor (Arts)
- ATLA religion database (Religion)
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- China: Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980 (History)
- China Data Online: Statistics of P.R.China by regions and categories; Statistical yearbooks; Census
- China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database (Chinese & English)
- Law Info China : Legal information from P.R.China
- EconLit with Full Text (Economics)
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980 (History)NEW!
- Historical Abstracts (History)
- JSTOR (Archived issues of academic journals)
- LexisNexis Academic (Newspapers)
- MLA Intl Bibliography (Literature)
- ProQuest (Journals, Newspapers and Magazines)
- Political Science Complete (Politics)
- WorldCat
See also:
Personal Names
Subject Librarian for China |
Contact Info Office: Bostock 229 Tel: 919-660-5803 Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Chinese Studies |
Need more help?
The guide provides some starting points for your research on English language materials on China at Duke. If you have in-depth questions, comments about this website, want to suggest a title for purchase, schedule a library instruction session, or set up a personal research consultation, please contact me.







Loading...
