Middle East & Islamic Studies: Getting Started

• International Journal of Contemporary Iraqi Studies
• International Journal of Middle East Studies
• Journal of Middle East Women's Studies (JMEWS)

Find Images in:

• AP Images
• ArchNet
• ARTstor
• Artnet.com
• Insight Visual Collections
• Oxford Art Online
• A Guide to Online Visual Sources in Middle East, North Africa and Islamic Stuides by Amanda Hannoosh Steinberg

• Annual Reviews
• The Arabian Nights Encyclopedia
• Arabic Almanac (Searchable Arabic Dictionaries)
• Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
• Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought
• Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an
• Brockelmann Online
• Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology
• Cambridge Companion to Muhammad
• Cambridge Companion to the Qurʼān
• The Cambridge History of Modern Arabic Literature
• The Cambridge History of Egypt
• The Cambridge History of Iran, vol. 7
• The Cambridge History of Islam, vol. 1A
• The Cambridge History of Turkey
• Christian-Muslim Relations: a Bibliographical History
• Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia (free)
• Country Studies (Library of Congress)
• إن أمهات الكتب العربية المطبوعة من المكتبة البريطانية / Early Arabic printed books from the British Library
• Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers 
• Encyclopædia of Islam (connected via BrillOnline portal)
• Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 
• Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
• Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
• Encyclopædia Iranica
• Encyclopædia Judaica 
• Encyclopædia of the Qur'ān (connected via BrillOnline portal
• The Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture
• Kotobarabia : Arab leaders, historians and philosophers collection
• Kotobarabia modern Arab renaissance collection
• Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon
• Literature Resource Center
• The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world
• Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
• Oxford Dictionaries Online Arabic
• The Oxford history of Islam
• The Oxford encyclopedia of Islam and politics
• The Oxford encyclopedia of Islam and women
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam.
• The Statesman's Year-Book (1864-)World Almanac of Islamism (American Foreign Policy Council)

Note: For help with off-Campus access to databases, please see here.

Find Articles in:

• Anthropology Plus
• Art & Architecture source
• ATLA Religion Database
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Central Asian Survey
• Historical Abstracts
• Index Islamicus
• International Bibliography of Periodical Literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences (IBZ)
• JSTOR

Find Primary Documents in:

• Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Dept. Central Classified Files
• Chatham House Online Archive
• Confidential Print (British): Middle East (1812-1969)
• Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Dept. Classified Files
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1949-1996
• Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
• Foreign Relations of the United States (US State Dept. Office of the Historian)
• Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), 1861-1960 (U Wisconsin)
• U.K. Parliamentary Papers
• Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994
• The King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Morocco
• Middle East Online. Series 1: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970
• Middle East Online. Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974
• Digital National Security Archive
• United Nations General Assembly Resolutions 1946-
• United Nations Security Council Resolutions 1946-
• United Nations Official Documents System (ODS)
• U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958
• U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009
• U.S. Middle East Peace Policy and America's Role in the Middle East Peace Process, 1989-1993
• World News Connection
• Yearbook of the United Nations, 1946-2005

is a blog which gathers and distributes information on materials relating to the Middle East housed in open access repositories (OAR) around the world.