HISTORY 495S/496S: Honors Thesis Seminar 2024/25

Kelley Lawton Librarian for United States History kelley.lawton@duke.edu

• United States History

Ryan Denniston, Librarian for Public Policy, Political Science, and Sociology ryan.denniston@duke.edu

• US Public Policy
• US Legislative Process
• Political Science

Erik Zitser Librarian for Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies ernest.zitser@duke.edu

• Slavic, Eurasian and East European Studies

• U.S. Declassified Documents Online includes primary sources and previously classified government documents relevant to US domestic and foreign policy (from the State Department, Department of Defense, CIA, FBI, UN, National Security Council, and other executive agencies).

• Human Rights Archive (Rubenstein Library)
  A search for “Bosnia” under RL’s “collection guides” yields results from 31 collections, including

  • the papers of David Gergen, "counselor, special advisor, director of communications, and speech writer to U.S. Presidents Nixon, Ford, Reagan, and Clinton";

  • human rights activists, such as Jerome Shestack, “a prominent lawyer and human rights advocate. His papers chiefly document the leadership roles he undertook for social justice organizations such as the American Bar Association, the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, the International League for Human Rights, the United Nations Commission on Human Rights”;

  • US non-profits, such as International Monitor Institute, International Center for Transitional Justice, Global Rights, Center for Justice and Accountability, and Sisterhood is Global.

     

To find books on the topic, conduct a "subject" search in the library's online catalog for the following Library of Congress-defined subject headings and limit the results by language (e.g. English):

United States--Foreign relations--Bosnia and Herzegovina

United States -- Foreign relations -- Balkan Peninsula

Peace-building, AmericanPeace-building, American--Balkan Peninsula

Yugoslav War, 1991-1995 -- Bosnia and Herzegovina

Yugoslav War, 1991-1995 -- Press coverage -- United States

United StatesDayton Peace Accords (1995)

To expand your search outside of Duke library, conduct the same "subject" search in the union catalogs of TRLN and WorldCat.

• Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window

  Search for journal articles in political science and public policy
• PAIS Index This link opens in a new window

  Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
• CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window

  Search for scholarship on theory and research in international affairs; includes NGO publications

• Central and Eastern European Online Library provides access to full text PDF articles from humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
• East & Central Europe Database provides access to full-text academic journals published by scholarly organizations and educational institutions in the East and Central Europe region. Subject areas include business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, literature, and history.
• European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies allows searches for articles, reports, theses about Eastern Europe (ex communist countries). It includes works relevant to Eastern European minorities and the emigration in Western European countries. Date: 1991-2007.