LibGuides: HISTORY 495S/496S: Honors Thesis Seminar 2024/25: Topic: France Colonialism

Subject Librarians

Heidi Madden Librarian for Western European and Medieval Studies heidi.madden@duke.edu

Heather Martin Librarian for African and African American Studies heather.martin@duke.edu

Africa Commons: History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Search African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new window
Search for primary documents beginning with trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Search for original documents and essays by leading scholars in Empire Studies
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
"Europe & Africa" has many relevant documents from the 19th century and into the early 20th century.
Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies This link opens in a new window
See article on "Colonial Rule, French"
RetroNews This link opens in a new window
RetroNews, the official news site of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, offers titles of the French press published from 1631 to 1950 plus editorial contents highlighting press archives and advanced research tools.

Archives National d'outre mer. A branch of the French National Archive, Archives Nationales that focuses on documents from the French colonies. Please also look at this Guide To French Government Documents, as you might find some relevant historic reports and debates.
Archives Portal Europe: the most comprehensive portal for researching across Finding Aids of archives in Europe; also acts as a directory to archives by country.
Europeana Europe's Digital Heritage
Gallica the French National Library
Global Archives Online is a free-to-use directory of open digital collections of sources in global and colonial history. Aimed at students and researchers, it provides information and links to hundreds of digital collections from the 15th to the 21st century.

The following search strings are hot-linked under the Related Subjects section of the full (detailed record of the book)

French-speaking West Africa; a guide to official publications, compiled by Julian W. Witherell, African Section "Europe & Africa." Full-text on HathiTrust. Go to the index at the end of the volume and find a list of references to education; you may find the one or other journal on Gallica, or you might find that an archive holds the print originals.

Cairn.info Revues - Général This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from journals and magazines, books and encyclopedias in the French language
Harmatheque.com This link opens in a new window
Search for French-language ebooks, articles, videos, and audio recordings on many subjects in the humanities and social sciences
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and reports of U.S. and international education research, including research on higher education
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Search for articles covering primary, secondary, higher education and related topics
ERIC (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and reports in education