LibGuides: HISTORY 495S/496S: Honors Thesis Seminar 2024/25: Topic: Page Act

Subject Librarians

Matthew Hayes, Librarian for Asian American Studies, matt.hayes@duke.edu

Kelley Lawton, Librarian for United States History, kelley.lawton@duke.edu

Luo Zhou, Chinese Studies Librarian, luo.zhou@duke.edu

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books published worldwide pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences)
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Search across historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials from the US government
HathiTrust (Public Domain within US only) This link opens in a new window
Search a digital repository of major research libraries. This is an open access database. This is a great resource for government and organizational documents.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Find law review articles, primary source materials, and government documents

Chinese in California Virtual Collection (UC Berkeley): Covering the period of the nineteenth to the early twentieth century, this collection focuses on Chinese immigration to California through a wide variety of materials including photographs, legal documents, pamphlets, speeches, and letters.
Immigration Records (Duke databases)
- Ancestry Library Edition: Search for immigration records under the search header, then select immigration and travel. Click on the "view all in card catalog" on the right, under featured data collections. Search for Chinese in the title search box.
- Immigration Records of the INS, 1880-1930: Search for primary source materials on INS investigations from 1880 to 1930.
Newspapers:
- America's Historical Newspapers: Provides access to newspapers published from 1690 to 1922.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
- Newspapers.com: World Collection: Search for articles published between the 1700s-2000s. This database is especially strong on local coverage.
- For the major national newspapers, we have coverage through the Proquest Historical Newspapers databases. Scan this listing for access to newspapers like the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times.
Sabin Americana: Search for primary sources about the Americans published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.

Start with a Keywords search, using words that describe your topic, and see what you find.

You might try different combinations of the following, as Subject searches:

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines