Rachel Ariel Librarian for Jewish Studies rachel.ariel@duke.edu
Kelley Lawton Librarian for United States History kelley.lawton@duke.edu
Heidi Madden Librarian for Western European and Medieval Studies heidi.madden@duke.edu
Duke's history of hiring German Jewish Scholars, 1930s, 1997, 2007. Some materials in this collection have access restrictions; work with Rubenstein research services to understand these materials. Records of the University's Board of Trustees which have been in existence for at least fifty years are available for scholarly research with the permission of the University Archivist. Access to records which have been in existence for less than fifty years shall be granted only by special permission, in writing, from the Board of Trustees. Contact Research Services for more information.
Abraham Joshua Heschel papers, 1880, 1919-1998 and undated. Abraham Joshua Heschel was an internationally known scholar, author, activist, and theologian. He was born in Warsaw, Poland into a distinguished family of Hasidic rebbes, and studied philosophy in Berlin, Germany. In 1938 he was deported from Frankfurt to Warsaw where he escaped to London just before the Nazi invasion. There are 16 languages represented in this collection. Predominant languages include English, Hebrew, Yiddish, and German
Fritz London papers, 1845-2019, bulk 1926-1954 Fritz London, physicist and theoretical chemist, formulated the London equations of superconductivity with his brother, Heinz London. After fleeing Nazi Germany in 1933, London held appointments at Oxford and Paris, then at Duke University from 1939 to 1954.
Oskar Morgenstern papers, 1866-1992, bulk dates 1917-1977. Professor in Game Theory and Mathematical Economics at New York University. This collection documents his professional life through his correspondence and diaries, writings, and research. Morgenstern was in the US when Hitler took power and decided not to return to Vienna. The Rubenstein collection includes Morgenstern’s handwritten diaries, spanning the years 1917-1977. The diaries were digitized, a few years ago, in a colla collaboration between Rubenstein Library and the University of Graz, Austria, and can be seen at the Oskar Morgenstern Website. The diaries start in German; thanks to the digitization, DEEPL can be used as a translator.
Hans Baron papers, 1867-2018 and undated. Hans Baron was a reknowned German-born historian and scholar of Italian Renaissance history and literature who emigrated from Germany in 1933.
Search for links to websites and resources related to Jewish History from Biblical times to the present
Search for articles from some of the most important Jewish periodicals in German-speaking countries from 1806 to 1948. This is an open access database.
Find and view streaming video from testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Strong collection of Jewish Holocaust testimonies
Under Newspaper Databases: look for Historical Archives of major US and UK newspapers
Americans and the Holocaust. What Americans knew. Public Opinion. By the United States Holocaust Museum.
Archives Portal Europe and its APE link list
Jewish History
Jewish Heritage Network -- the portal of Jewish Heritage content
Yerusha -- European Jewish Archives Portal
World War II and the Holocaust
Aarolsen Archives -- International Centre on Nazi persecution
Blavatnik Archive -- a nonprofit foundation dedicated to preserving and disseminating materials that contribute to the study of 20th-century Jewish and world history, with a special emphasis on World War I, World War II, and Soviet Russia
European Holocaust Research Infrastructure - EHRI -- the trans-national Holocaust research, commemoration and education digital centre
German Occupation - a portal of documents from 90+ archives about German occupation during World War II
Holocaust Sources in Context -- documents from everyday life during the Holocaust years
Explore high level subject strings in the Duke Catalog (and other catalogs): when you find a relevant book in the Duke catalog, click the subject terms underneath; take the same subject search to explore other catalogs. Explore books that offer biographies of refugee artists and scientists;
Jewish immigrants of the Nazi period in the USA. Archival material published in book form.
No Haven for the Oppressed : United States Policy Toward Jewish Refugees, 1938-1945.
Well worth saving : American universities' life-and-death decisions on refugees from Nazi Europe. A harrowing account of the profoundly consequential decisions American universities made about refugee scholars from Nazi-dominated Europe
