LibGuides: HISTORY 495S/496S: Honors Thesis Seminar 2024/25: Topic: Credit Lending and the Rise of Investment Banking

Subject Librarians

Kelley Lawton, Librarian for United States History, kelley.lawton@duke.edu

Mark Thomas, Librarian for Business and Economics, mark.thomas@duke.edu

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the field of economics
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, trade journals and market research reports with business and economic information
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on management, finance, economics, industry, accounting, and international business from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. Includes Political Risk Yearbooks.
Political Risk Yearbooks provide probability forecasts for political, social and economic trends for 100 countries, and are included in Business Source Complete since 2003. In the "Publication" field in the Advanced Search, search for Political Risk Yearbook and the name of the country.

FRASER
This database had its start as a data preservation and data accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It has grown into an expansive digital archive of economic, financial, and banking history of the United States.

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains scanned articles from magazines and journals which began publication between 1740 and 1900. To find banking magazines and trade journals, from the basic search screen, click on the publications link. Then, do a subject search on banking. The database does include The Bankers' Magazine up to 1943.
Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Search for corporate annual reports for more than 800 companies from 1884 to present. From the basic search screen, you can select browse, then browse by industry to find reports from the banking and financial services industry.

Start with a Keywords search, using words that describe your topic, and see what you find.

You might try different combinations of the following, as Subject searches:

Investment Banking-United States
Banks and Banking-United States
Banks and Banking-United States-History
Bankruptcy-United States-History
Consumer Credit-United States-History
Financial Crises-United States-History
You can also search for specific financial institutions in keyword and subject searching. Also, to search for publications by financial institutions and organizations, you can enter for them as an author.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy