LibGuides: HISTORY 495S/496S: Honors Thesis Seminar 2024/25: Topic: Reagan to 9/11: Impacts on American Muslim Communities

Subject Librarians

Sean Swanick, Librarian for Middle East, North Africa, and Islamic Studies, sean.swanick@duke.edu

Kelley Lawton, Librarian for United States History, kelley.lawton@duke.edu

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Search across historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials from the US government
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Find law review articles, primary source materials, and government documents

September 11, 2001 Web Archive - Library of Congress: Provides access to web pages and sites from individuals, groups, organizations, and more, both national and international, which focus on the aftermath of 9/11. The collection encompasses pages and sites from 9/11/2001 to 12/1/2001 and 9/9/2022 to 9/23/2002.
Presidential Libraries
- Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum: Search for relevant documents under the Archives heading.
- George W. Bush Presidential Library: Search for relevant documents under the Research heading.
Oral Histories:
- DMV Community Resistance Archives (collaboration between Muslims for Just Futures, the Johns Hopkins Program in Islamic Studies, and the Johns Hopkins Center for Social Concern): Interviews, geographically-focused on DC, Maryland, and Virginia, included in this archive were conducted by students enrolled in a course which came out of this collaboration.
- September 11, 2001 Oral History Narrative and Memory Project (Columbia University)
- Arab American National Museum: Provides access to a variety of digitized items, books, documents, photographs, and oral histories and digital scrapbooks.
Index of Arab American Archives: Gateway to collections of Arab American histories, including those of Muslim communities, across the United States.

Start with a Keywords search, using words that describe your topic, and see what you find.

You might try different combinations of the following, as Subject searches:

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy