Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to Collections Related to the Ford Motor Company: Other Agency Records

Other Agency Records

Duplex Advertising Company. Billboard Images and Records, 1964-1993 and undated
This collection contains photographs, negatives, and slides that document the Duplex Advertising Company’s work in central Texas, including billboards, signs, and posters. Materials include several area Ford dealer campaigns many of which feature national campaigns, national slogans, and the Ford logo.

Foote, Cone & Belding Communications, Inc. Records, 1964-1978 and undated
Boxes 3 and 4 of the records of the Foote, Cone & Belding advertising agency contains scripts for Ford television commercials from 1977. The collection also contains reels and Umatic tapes of these spots, but original audiovisual materials are closed to patron use. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to view these items.

Strobridge Lithographing Company Advertisements, 1910-1954 and undated
Box 3 of this collection includes early Ford printed poster advertisements from before JWT acquired the account in 1944. Many are undated, but some date from the mid-1930s.

Team Detroit Office Records, 2006-2009
Team Detroit is an umbrella organization that includes J. Walter Thompson company records. It consolidates all of the ad agencies that work for the Ford Motor Company in Detroit. The collection consists of three boxes including materials pertaining to marketing strategies, brand positioning, promotional materials, and information regarding Ford’s Lincoln, Mercury, Lexus and Cadillac divisions. The collection also contains documents and promotional materials regarding the launch of the Ford Edge, Mercury Sable, and the revival of the Ford Fusion.

Wells Rich Greene Inc. Records, 1954-1998 and undated
Boxes 6, 7 and 68 of the Wells Rich Greene company records contain Ford advertisements from 1979-1987. The collection also includes ten boxes of audiovisual materials containing Ford commercials from 1979-1996. See the finding aid for a detailed listing. However, original audiovisual materials are closed to patron use. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to view these items.

Wunderman Archives, 1946-2010 and undated
The archives of this direct-marketing agency contain Ford materials in boxes AF56-AF60 and oversize materials. Materials span 1982 to 1999 and include case studies, annual reports, campaign analyses, examples of campaign materials and creative work, memoranda, and other documentation of Wunderman's work for Ford. Audiovisual materials located in boxes 28 and 29 contain recorded presentations, spot radio announcements and television commercials, and compilation reels of Ford commercials dating from the 1980s and 1990s. Most materials relate to advertising in the United States but some international materials are also included. Original audiovisual materials are closed to patron use. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to view these items.