Skip to main content

Guide to Collections Related to the Ford Motor Company: Trade Organizations

Trade Organizations

American Association of Advertising Agencies Records, 1918-1998
The American Association of Advertising Agencies, founded in 1917, is the primary advertising industry trade organization. Box VF21 contains a single Ford folder, covering the 1973 complaint brought by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) against Ford and JWT for two advertisements. Materials include official reports, trade magazine articles about the issue, and newspaper clippings following the complaint. All items date from 1973 or 1974.

Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA) Archives, 1885-1990s
Please see Digital Collections below for the billboards contained in this collection.

Outdoor Advertising Association of America Poster Designs, circa 1930-1940s and undated
This collection contains black and white poster designs (for billboard or other transit advertising), some printed on cards and some photographed and mounted in volumes, that document the advertising design holdings of several outdoor advertising companies from 1934 through the 1940s and possibly later. Box 1 has a few items related to Ford, including a Howard Scott ad from 1938 and a few other ads from 1939/1940. The automotive folders also have Plymouth and Packard ads. Please see Digital Collections below for billboard images from this collection.

Outdoor Advertising Association of America Slide Library, 1891-1994
Please see Digital Collections below for the billboards contained in this collection.