Skip to main content

Guide to Collections Related to the Ford Motor Company: Print Advertising Collections

Advertisements

Brouillard Communications, Inc., Vertical Files, circa 1973-2000
Brouillard was founded in 1968 as a division of JWT specializing in corporate advertising for major US and multinational firms. Box 49 of this unprocessed collection has several folders of Ford magazine and newspaper advertisements, which span from the 1940s to 1991. Most advertisements relate to corporate image.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875-2001 and undated, bulk 1920s-1990s
This collection contains extensive Ford materials, consisting primarily of print advertisements in a variety of formats. Dating from 1931-1998, the collection includes 47 boxes related to the Ford Dealer Association, 3 boxes to the Ford Dealer’s Advertising Fund, and 56 boxes to the Ford Motor Co. In addition to print advertisements introducing new models, photostats of outdoor billboards in the 1940s and early 1950s are included. Most ads are small format and text-heavy. Later ads (1970s especially) are mostly TV Guide ads. Key campaigns include "There's a Ford in Your Future" (1945-1948), the "Peanuts" campaign (1960-1962), and the launch of the Mustang (1964). Much of the Ford material consists of advertisements for (some) radio and (mostly) television programs sponsored by Ford. Relevant boxes include FM2 (1947, Fred Allen, radio), FM7 (1940s, television), FM14 (1950s, television), FM17 (1950s, television), FM18 (1950s, television), FM21 (1950s/1960s), and FM39-40 (1970s, Bob Hope, television). Major shows represented include Ford Theatre.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Frankfurt Office. Advertisements Collection, 1950-1991 and undated
This collection contains 36 boxes of Ford newspaper and magazine print advertisements, tear sheets, and proofs from JWT’s Frankfurt (Germany) office. Spanning 1950-1985, most of the advertisements are in German.

J. Walter Thompson Company. International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004 and undated, bulk 1965-1990
This collection contains print advertisements produced in JWT’s international offices for publication in South Africa, China, Japan, Grenada, Taiwan, Australia, Canada, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, and Venezuela. Although a few advertisements date to the late 1950s and 1960s, the bulk is from the 1980s.

Roy Lightner Collection of Antique Advertisements, 1871-2009 and undated
Boxes 19, 20, and 25-27 contain over a thousand Ford ads, spanning from 1927 to 2003.