Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to Collections Related to the Ford Motor Company: JWT Career Papers: G-Z

JWT Career Papers: G-Z

Carroll Carroll Papers, 1934-1979 and undated
This collection contains some Ford-specific material related to Carroll Carroll, a writer for JWT radio programs. Materials include a speech given at a 1967 Ford field meeting company dinner (Box 1) and several annotated copies of sheet music for a 1962 Ford Fairlane jingle (Box 2).

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989 and undated
The Jack Peters collection has over twenty-four boxes of documents related to the Ford account, mostly from international JWT offices in the 1980s. Materials include presentations, evaluations, internal memoranda, personnel files, campaign ideas, clippings, and proofs of Ford campaigns in various countries. Materials are arranged by office, see the finding aid for a detailed listing of folders.

John F. Devine Papers, 1952-1974 and undated, bulk 1956-1970
This collection documents Devine's activities first as administrator of the Radio/Television Department (1954 to 1960) and then as a corporate executive in the New York office (1960 to 1970). Primarily located in the Client Subseries of the Radio/Television Department Series, the Ford-related materials date from 1956-1963 and relate to television and radio programs sponsored by Ford and some commercials produced to air along with the programs. Most folders are organized by show and contain a mix of scripts, weekly production progress reports, detailed budget and cost allocation memoranda, and correspondence relating to various difficulties involved in producing the programs. Shows of note are: I Love Lucy, Ford Theatre, and Project X. Minimal Ford materials from 1962-1963 can also be found in the Office Files Subseries.

John F. Dignam Papers, 1958-2003 and undated, bulk 1960s-1987
The papers of John F. Dignam, who served as Vice President and Art Director on the Ford account for over a decade, primarily contain advertising proofs and commercial artwork. Covering the years 1967-1983, the Ford-related materials range from magazine ads to works in progress, such as paintings and collage concept boards. Two sample reels of television commercials (listed in Box 8) have use copies available to researchers.

Joseph O'Donnell Papers, 1947-1987 and undated, bulk 1986
The papers of advertising executive Joseph O'Donnell contain Ford materials from 1986, the year O'Donnell served as CEO of JWT. All located in box 3, these materials include meeting notes, general files, a creative review, and notes from a meeting with D.E. Peterson. Box 18 also contains commercial spots for Ford from 1986. Original audiovisual materials are closed to patron use. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to view these items.

Norman H. Strouse Papers, 1852-1990 and undated
Although Norman H. Strouse served as Chairman and CEO of JWT in the 1960s, the majority of Ford-related material in his papers dates from his work in the Detroit office in the 1950s. Included are: correspondence, memos, client presentations and speeches to Ford representatives, and a "Baby Talk" billboard scrapbook dating from c. 1947.

Shirley F. Woodell Papers, 1943-1958
Ford’s international marketing is heavily represented in the reports, correspondence, itineraries, and notes of Shirley F. Woodell, written during and after field trips to Mexico, the Caribbean, and Latin America from 1943-1958 and to England, France, and Belgium in 1949. The lengthy and detailed items in this collection require close reading to find company-specific information. Materials in this collection are fragile and reproductions are prohibited.

Sidney A. Olson Papers, 1957
The Sidney A. Olson papers date from 1957 and consist of reports and artwork created during a trip to identify production locations in Asia and the Middle East for the Ford Motor Company television campaign, "Proved and Approved Around the World".

Sidney Ralph Bernstein Company History Files, 1873-1964
Box 5 of the research materials gathered by Sidney Ralph Bernstein for a company history contains a folder with clippings, notes, correspondence, and printed materials related to the Ford account. These materials date from 1916 to 1967.

Thomas Sutton Papers, 1965-1975 and undated
Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT’s international operations during the 1960s-1970s. Materials pertaining to Ford are from the Central and South American Office Series and include budget documents, account personal lists, and information regarding the 1967-1968 Argentina and Brazil accounts.

Wallace W. Elton Papers, 1909-1990
This collection contains a few early Ford advertisements from Wallace W. Elton’s time at NW Ayer & Sons in the 1930s. The bulk of the Ford materials, however, was produced by the J. Walter Thompson Company from 1946-1965 and is located in the Client Series. Correspondence and memoranda document the interplay between the creative team of the New York office and account management in the Detroit office. Materials primarily relate to "Project X", a promotional program involving an around-the-world tour for the 1958 Ford. Also included are materials from "Project Y", a reshoot project for the Project X tour, and "Project M", developed around the concept of using Princess Grace [Grace Kelly] and the palace at Monaco to introduce the 1963 1/2 model year cars. Of particular interest is material related to a contract with Charles Schulz to use Peanuts characters on behalf of Ford (Boxes 10- 11), a copy of Ford at Fifty (1953), and materials pulled from Elton’s scrapbook. Boxes 13-14 contain car bulletins, shop manuals, promotions, brochures, history, booklets, and 1963 owner’s manuals. Other Ford materials are located in the Advertisements Series and Pictures Series and include photographs Henry and Edsel Ford and various models of Ford vehicles.

Winfield Taylor Papers, 1948-1960 and undated
The Ford materials in the papers of Winfield Taylor, a copywriter and later Vice President of JWT, are segregated into the Ford Subseries of the Client Files Series and cover the period of 1948-1960. Included are correspondence, memoranda, call reports, Review Board minutes, scripts, copy, product information, competitor information, reports, and printed material. See the finding aid for a detailed listing of the folders in these eight boxes. Of particular interest are materials related to "Worth More...and Why" campaign, two reports from 1957 on horsepower and on words and phrases used in automobile advertising, and model data from 1958, 1959, and 1961. See the finding aid for a detailed listing of the folders in the eight boxes related to Ford. Advertisements originally in this collection have been relocated to the Domestic Advertisements Collection.