Sponsored by the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library, JTI is a collaborative effort to make texts of classical Japanese literature available on the World Wide Web; out-of-copyright modern texts are also included. Designed for non-native speakers. Can be searched or browsed by author or title and period.
Includes the full-text of the old edition (Iwanami) of the Nihon koten bungaku taikei (100v. 580 works) plus the Nijūichidaishū (waka), the Azuma kagami, the Eiri Genji and the tenbu section of Koji ruien.
Focuses on digitizing modern authors out of copyright, but also includes Japanese translations of Western authors. Provides brief biographical information about the author, information about the text - where it was first published - as well as the source of the text that has been transcribed into html. Available for download in several file formats.
Largest collection of text files in Japan. It includes free/fee files, so if you are wondering whether a text has been put online yet you should check here. Organized by period - classical, medieval, early modern, modern, other.
Collected by a Meiji novelist, Watanabe Katei, it includes 1159 texts of early modern novels and dramatic works - kana zōshi, ukiyoe zōshi, share-bon, kibyōshi, akahon/kurohon, aohon, jōruri, kabuki and others.
- Konjaku monogatari - if you mouse over the hand-written text, you see the characters typed; there is also a printed version and an html version. - Kunijo Kabuki Ekotoba - has translations into English and modern Japanese as well as transcriptions of the literary Japanese - Emakimono; Nara e-hon and other types of materials, often but not always only as jpegs.
- Edo and Meiji materials about women. There is a pop-up window with typed text. - Three digitized journals: 家事及裁縫, 伸びて行く and 學習研究 - Ise monogatari and related information including a new translation - 27 Diaries about travel to Edo (and other areas)
- 14 Nara e-hon: Muromachi monogatari. Each item includes a jpeg of the item with furigana available by mousing over the text.
- Database covering the A-bomb and Hibakusha.
- 5600 textbooks from Edo terakoya to 1950; sorted by time period, by subject, and by school system. Keyword searching possible.
- Land and tax records for 5 Chinese provinces.
- Temple collections
