Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chronology of Christian Spirituality: A.D. 1304 - A.D. 1499

A.D. 1300

(Vision of Youth Bartholomew by Mikhail Nesterov, 1889 - 90) [Bartholomew was the given name of St. Sergius of Radonezh]

RENAISSANCE (1304 - 1517)

Rhineland mystics Meister Eckhart, Johannes Tauler, Heinrich Seuse, John Ruysbroeck, Gerard Groote, Hildegard of Bingen

English mysticsRichard Rolle, Walter Hilton, Julian of Norwich

Russian mysticsNil Sorsky, Gregory of Palamas

The Cloud of the Unknowing

The Golden Legend


A.D. 1400

(Saint Catherine of Siena. Fresco in church of S. Dominico, Siena)

Thomas a Kempis; Fray Garcia Jimenez de Cisneros, Catherine of Sienna

Andrei Rublev (Russian icon painter)

Ecumenical Councils of the Church

Vienne (1311)

Constance (1414 - 18)

Basle (1431 - 49)


The Winchester Bible is created, c. 1175

The Klosterneuburg Altarpiece is created, c. 1180

The Mappa Mundi, (Hereford Cathedral) is completed, c. 1290

Mosaics in the Church of St. Saviour in Chora, Constantinople, c. 1310

Merode Alterpiece is created, 1425 - 1428, Robert Campin