This Guide will list texts written by and about scholars whose theological reflections have created the canon of Christian spirituality. In the tabs that follow, the texts listed in the Getting Started page will be supported by the visual images of those Church fathers and mothers whose names are also linked to the treatises they crafted.
Corpus Thomisticum, a full edition of the complete works of St. Thomas Aquinas
Monastic Matrix, a scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 - 1600 CE
New Advent's The Fathers of the Church, patristic primary texts
Christian Classics Ethereal Library, an online digital library of class Christian texts
Biblia Clerus, Congregation for the Clery (The Holy See)
Papal Encyclicals Online, official documents of the Catholic Church
The Internet History Sourcebook Project, Paul Halsall, editor (Fordham University)
Spirituality of the Middle Ages, compiled by William Harmless, SJ (Creighton University)
The Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe, Designed and drawn (year 1 A.D. - A.D. 2000) by Christos Nüssli,Switzerland
Blackwell Companion to Christian Spirituality, Arthur Holder
Christian spirituality : origins to the twelfth century edited by Bernard McGinn and John Meyendorff; in collaboration with Jean Leclercq
Christian spirituality : High Middle Ages and Reformation, edited by Jill Raitt in collaboration with Bernard McGinn and John Meyendorff
Christian spirituality : post-reformation and modern, edited by Louis Dupré and Don E. Saliers in collaboration with John Meyendorff
Ante-Nicene Christian Library; translations of the writings of the Fathers down to A.D. 325, Alexander Roberts and James Donaldson, editors
A Select library of Nicene and post-Nicene fathers of the Christian church : 2d series, Philip Schaff and Henry Wace, editors
Corpus Christianorum, Series Latina,Turnholti, Typographi Brepols
Patrologia Latina, J.P. Minge
Early Church Fathers (Christian Classics Ethereal Library)
Cambridge History of Early Christian Literature, edited by Frances Young, Lewis Ayres and Andrew Louth
History of Christian Spirituality, Louis Bouyer
New Dictionary of the Saints: east and west, Michael J. Walsh
Dictionnaire de Spiritualité: Ascetique et mystique, doctrine et histoire, edited by Marcel Viller, F. Callavera, J. de Guibert
New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality, Michael Downey
New Westminster dictionary of Christian spirituality, Philip Sheldrake
Dictionnaire de spiritualité ascétique et mystique, doctrine et histoire, publié sous la direction de Marcel Viller, S.J., assisté de F. Cavallera, et J. de Guibert, S.J., avec la concours d'un grand nombre de collaborateurs ...
Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church, Michael Prokurat
World Spirituality: An Encyclopedic History of the Religious Quest, edited by Ewert Cousins
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity, John Anthony McGuckin
New Catholic Encyclopedia, New Advent
Bibliographia patristica. Internationale patristische (serial), Berlin
Bibliographia internationalis spiritualitatis (serial), a Pontificio Instituto Spiritualitatis O.C.D. edita
The Pauline writings: an annotated bibliography, Mark A. Seifrid
Eastern Christianity: a Bibliography Selected from the ATLA Religion Database, edited by Paul D. Petersen; Ruth F. Frazer, general editor
International Medieval Bibliography (online), edited by Alan V. Murray, founded by Robert S. Hoyt and Peter Sawyer
The Spiritual Life: A Treatise on Ascetical and Mystical Theology, Adolphe Tanquerey
Christian Spirituality, Pierre P. Pourrat
The Study of spirituality edited by Cheslyn Jones, Geoffrey Wainwright, Edward Yarnold, SJ
Perfect Fools: Folly for Christ's Sake in Catholic and Orthodox Spirituality, John Saward
Western Mysticism: a Guide to the Basic Works, Mary Ann Bowman
A brief history of spirituality, Philip Sheldrake
An Invitation to Christian Spirituality: an ecumenical anthology, John R. Tyson, editor
The community of eternal life: the study of the meaning of life for the Johannine community, David Asonye Ihenacho
Christian spirituality : God's presence through the ages, by Richards Woods
Performance and transformation : new approaches to late medieval spirituality, edited by Mary A. Suydam and Joanna E. Ziegler
Duke Catalog - Includes books, DVD's, e-books and Special Collections material
TRLN - Combined Duke, NCCU, UNC and NCState library catalogs
WorldCat - Every library combined into enmormus searchable dataabase. Shows Duke's holdings
Rare Book Manuscript and Special Collections Library - Direct link to RBMSCL
