Skip to main content

International & Transnational Relations

Includes primary sources.

Primary Sources on the free Web

American Memory Project
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/
Online documentation of American history and creativity from the Library of Congress, including written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music.
Avalon Project at Yale
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
"Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy" from the 18th to the 21st centuries
CIA declassified documents
http://www.foia.cia.gov/search_options.asp
Previously secret documents released pursuant to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests
Cold War International History Project
http://www.wilsoncenter.org/
Choose this project from the Programs tab--by topic, or use the advanced search dropdown menu to search the Virtual Archive. Includes scans and translations of Cold War documents.From the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.
Federation of American Scientists
http://www.fas.org/index.html
Explore for CRS Reports, Ofc. of Technology Assessment docs, issue briefs, US nuclear policy.
German Propaganda Archive
http://www.calvin.edu/academic/cas/gpa/
A growing collection of English translations of propaganda material from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic. From Randall Bytwerk of the Calvin College Communication Arts & Sciences Dept.
National Security Agency Declassification Initiatives
http://www.nsa.gov/public_info/declass/index.shtml
NSA documents reviewed and declassified 25 years after their creation
National Security Archive (George Washington University)
http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/
Search the "documents" link at the top or browse "publications" to see the collections. Some of these collections are available through Duke's subscription to the National Security Archive database.
Nimitz Gray Book
From the Naval War College, 8 vol. collection of Fleet Adm. Chester Nimitz communications from the Pearl Harbor attack through the end of WWII
Our Documents initiative
www.ourdocuments.gov
100 selected documents; cooperative effort of National Archives, National History Day, and USA Freedom Corps
Presidential Libraries
http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/
From the National Archives, links to US Presidential libraries, many of which offer online documents. JFK archive recently released online.
United Nations Treaty Collection
Use for: The text and detailed status of over 470 multilateral treaties
Tip: Start with Databases and choose UNTS; for the most recent treaties, see MTDSG/ Status of Treaties
United States Institute of Peace
http://www.usip.org/
This independent, federally funded institute offers briefs, reports, and other publications on multiple issues.
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs
http://www2.etown.edu/vl/
Extensive compilation of links organized by media sources, organizations, regions and countries, and topics.