Skip to main content

International & Transnational Relations

Includes primary sources.

Contemporaneous News

Contemporaneous news is also a primary source.
Tip: Look up titles of newspapers in e-journals and the catalog to find all formats and dates available.

Japan Times (1998-present in LexisNexis Academic; also in microfilm 1897-1918, 1956-date)
Los Angeles Times (1881-present with some gaps)
New York Times (1851-present through various databases)
Times of London (1785-present through various databases)
Washington Post (1877 to the present through various databases)

News Databases:

America's Historical Newspapers
Use for:  U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Tips: Search by Presidential Eras or Eras in American History.
Printer icon will create printer-friendly display; or display as pdf and select "tile large pages" for long columns.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (FBIS)
Use for: Translations and analyses from foreign media sources that provide contemporaneous coverage of political and social events.
Tips: Coverage varies by region from early 1970s to 1996; also on Docs CDs to 2004, Call #  PrEx7.10/3. Continued by World News Connection, below.
The following regions are covered:  Africa, Central Eurasia (includes the former Soviet Union/Commonwealth of Independent States), China, East Asia, East Europe, Latin America, Near East and South Asia, West Europe.
World News Connection
English translations of selected newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports from all areas of the world. Coverage varies, most 2003-present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Use for: major US and British newspapers; historical black newspapers
Tip: Coverage varies, with many going back to the 19th century. Look at the scope note ("see more").
American History in Video
Use for: Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries covering 1492-2000
Tips: Use the Advanced Search; click Select Terms next to boxes to browse what's available
AP Images
Use for: AP news photos
Tips: Although the description says it covers 1995-present, many photos are older.
Use double quotes for phrases.
Use the Advanced Search for a specific date range, format: 2/10/2010

Current News

Tip: Look up titles of newspapers in e-journals and the catalog to find all formats and dates available.

Japan Times (1998-present in LexisNexis Academic; also in microfilm 1897-1918, 1956-date)
Los Angeles Times (1881-present with some gaps)
New York Times (1851-present through various databases)
Times of London (1785-present through various databases)
Washington Post (1877 to the present through various databases)

LexisNexis Academic

Strategies for finding…National, regional and international newspapers and news magazines,  including New York Times, Washington Post (also available via e-journals)

  • In Easy Search, search under News by Source Type or Title, OR 
  • Click on News on the left for a more advanced search, OR
  • Click 'All News' at the bottom of the News search
  • Be sure to select dates you wish to search unless you want the default

Strategies for finding…Op-eds , aka “opposite the editorial,” usually written by policy experts or elected officials

  • From All News, enter your search terms; then
  • Choose Article Type: Editorials and Opinions
  • You will need to distinguish between editorials written by the editors and opinion pieces

Strategies for finding…Broadcast coverage, including TV and radio newscasts from national networks, cable and syndicated programs from 1993 to present  

  • In the News or All News search, choose Source Type: Broadcast Transcripts