Skip to main content

International & Transnational Relations

Includes primary sources.

Search Think Tanks & Research Institutes

Think Tank Search
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library; custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks

Think tanks are defined by the above as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. 

Tips: Search these selected think tanks by keywords to find research and analysis.
If one seems most relevant to your topic, go to the home page and mine the site for publications, issues, research, and links to other organizations.

Political orientation of think tanks, per FAIR.org (2009)

Global Go To Think Tank Index (U Pennsylvania)

American Policy Directory (U Oregon)

Think Tank List (WorldPress.org)

Transnational Groups

NGOs, think tanks, research institutes, and grassroots organizations may involve people across countries through non-governmental structures.

Non-governmental Organizations research guide
    Both a research guide and a searchable database of NGO web sites; search by keyword or limit by subject or region.
Encyclopedia of Associations via the Gale Directory Library database
    Use for: identifying organizations by issue on international, US national and local levels.
American Foreign Policy: the dynamics of choice in the 21st century, 3rd edition
    Link Library --see Think Tanks, NGOS. Updates
    by Duke professor Bruce Jentleson. Links to think tanks, NGOs, IGOs, journals, news, public opinion polls.
Amnesty International
    Publications from 1962 in Perkins News-Micro Microfiche S5892s, or in print (search the catalog), plus many reports online.
    Includes country reports on human rights.
Center for Strategic and International Studies
   Expert analysis of international current events, finance, policy, and national security issues.
Development Gateway
    International nonprofit organization using information technology to enable change in developing nations. Tracks aid flows and projects. See especially their AidData and Country Gateways.
Foreign Policy in Focus
    Reports and analysis of issues, by region or topic, from the Interhemispheric Resource Center and the Institute for Policy Studies.
GlobalSecurity.org
    Founded by John Pike, this organization "seeks to reduce reliance on nuclear weapons and the risk of their use."
Human Rights Watch
    Publications from 1980-1999 in Perkins Microfiche; current publications in catalog by title, and many reports online.
Human Rights Web Archive
    Searchable archive of web publications and sites on human rights, especially those at risk of disappearing.
Project on Defense Alternatives
    From the Commonwealth Institute of Cambridge, MA. Links to reports and articles on defense, terrorism, the Iraq war, and "transitional security policy," leading to regional and global cooperative security regimes.
SIPRI (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute)
    Includes links to government documents like the US State Department's annual report on arms exports. See also the SIPRI data on military expenditures.
Yearbook of International Organizations
    From the Union of International Associations. Online + print: Current at Perkins Reference Desk; earlier Perkins stacks.
    Includes extensive bibliography and indexing of NGO and IGO publications of all kinds.

WWW Virtual Library International Affairs Resources
Annotated links to high quality English-language information sources, vetted by an International Studies professor.