Databases for Primary SourcesNewsWeb sites
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "International & Transnational Relations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International & Transnational Relations   Tags: international-relations, jentleson, political-science, primary_sources, public-policy, subjectguide  

Includes primary sources.
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/international-relations Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Free Web

Evaluating Web Pages

Searching Effectively

 

Keep current with the news

Duke Libraries subscriptions make it easy to search for news on your topic across multiple sources.

Factiva
Browse Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Economist front pages and sections.

LexisNexis Academic
National, regional and international newspapers and news magazines,including New York Times, Washington Post (also available via e-journals).
Also broadcast transcripts of TV and radio newscasts from national networks, cable and syndicated programs.

America's News
Regional, state and local papers and TV news--transcripts and videos.

InfoTrac Newsstand
Major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading world titles; includes Raleigh's News & Observer and Durham's Herald Sun

 

 

Quality Resources

The library's paid subscription databases are the best place to start for resources for academic papers; specific databases are recommended on this page and throughout this guide.

See also:
Globalization & Economic Competitiveness guide
Political Analysis for Public Policy guide
Find sources on US government branches, public opinion, media, interest groups.

 

Databases for Scholarly Analysis

Use the library databases to find scholarly materials:

Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
Indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Covers law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
ProQuest Political Science
Covers political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy, with full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Some overlap with PS Complete; also some unique content. Provided by NC Live.
PAIS
Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, and books on international affairs
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles on US and world history
Praeger Security International
Publications on international security, military history, and terrorism. Also  weekly expert commentaries, archive of important primary source documents, terrorism chronology from 1968 to the present, news feed. Updated weekly.
Web of Science
Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index, a comprehensive index to academic literature in prestigious, high impact journals in all the Social Science disciplines.
 

Academic Journals for International Relations

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Catherine Shreve
Contact Info
catherine.shreve@duke.edu
919-660-6934
Office hours at Sanford School
147 Rubenstein Hall
W & Th 3-5 pm
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip