BibliographiesEncyclopediasReference ToolsIndexes to Collected Works and Literary ConcordancesInformation about Books, Journals and Government Publications
Art History journalsEconomics & BusinessHistoryJournals & Law ReviewsLiterature Yearbooks & JournalsLinguisticsPolitical SciencePopular magazines & JournalsReligionWomen's Studies
Getting Started
Archival Collections in the United States and JapanGovernment PublicationsNewspapersNewspaper Holdings at DukeMASAKI Motoi Japanese Student MovementJapanese Images
East Asian LibrariesFoundations & Federal AgenciesJapan specialists
Publishing World and Copyright IssuesJapanese LibrariesMuseumsEmployment in Japan
Historical Texts & ImagesWWII Texts & ImagesOnline Text & Data ArchivesMapsLiterature: E-BooksArt History websites
This is the "Contents" page of the "Japanese Studies Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Japanese Studies Research Guide  

Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/japanesestudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Contents Print Page
  Search: 
 

Table of Contents

Getting Started includes databases, encyclopedias, bibliographies, catalogs, indexes and reference tools.  

Electronic Resources has a catagorized guide to electronic resources for Japanese Studies

Japanese Studies Databases lists online databases for the study of Japan. Includes bibliographical and full-text databases, mostly in Japanese.

Encyclopedias includes a list of key English and Japanese language encyclopedias as well as links to subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Bibliographies lists important bibliographies for Western Language Books, Translations, and Japanese Books.

Periodicals lists English language and Japanese language journals and includes a list of free online magazines and key journal databases.

Publisher's Catalogs lists key publisher's catalogs for books and serials as well as government publications.

Indexes provides key indexes of collected works

Reference tools can aid your research by providing information on names, people and places, statistics, and words;

Subject Guides include subject specific resources such as encyclopedias, compilations of texts, image and data resources, discussion lists, search tips - for Art History, Economics, History, Law, Linguistics & Literature, Political Science, Popular Culture, Religion and Women's Studies

Visual resources provides information on print sources in the East Asian Collection, art books in Lilly and online collections;

Primary sources include materials in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library, microfilm collections, newspapers, and government documents;

Institutions Supporting Japan Studies can facilitate your research by providing information about other institutions in North America, including East Asian Collections, travel grants, interlibrary loan with Japan, associations, conferences, foundations, researchers, and scholarships;

Doing Research in Japan presents information on libraries, museums and living/working in Japan.

East Asian Studies at Duke provides links to local East Asian studies departments and social organizations

      

    Description of the Collection

    Duke has focused its collecting on 19th and 20th century Japan, identifying a few areas of strength - modern art history, women's and labor history, Japan's colonial history, modern literature, manga and anime.  Some of these - such as labor history - date from the earliest hires in Japanese studies, while others are quite recent, although efforts have been made to build the collection retrospectively, especially in modern art history.  Rather than trying to build a comprehensive collection, the primary aim is to support the faculty and students in the Triangle and to a lesser extent, to be a regional resource for faculty in the Southeast. The primary focus is on history, literature and the social sciences from 1868 to the present, but premodern social and economic history, and Buddhism are well represented, and basic materials are collected in premodern literature, religion, philosophy, language, law, sociology and anthropology. The collection also contains works in Japanese on Chinese art history, Daoism, Chinese and Korean history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the Japanese colonial experience, US-Japan relations, the history of the European Community, world history and translations of world literature into Japanese.

    Research that crosses both disciplinary and national boundaries is expanding the boundaries of the collection. This has meant that primary importance has been given to reference tools, electronic and print, that facilitate the identification of resources and core titles as well as materials directly relevant to faculty and graduate student research.  The abundance of reprints being published in Japan has allowed Duke to acquire primary sources, especially visual ones.  With the advancement of digital technology, the globalization of culture, and the breakdown of traditional knowledge, interdisciplinary and transcultural approaches to visual studies are imperative in the teaching and research of Japan. And given the programmatic emphasis on popular culture, Duke has built significant collections in advertising,  film, women's magazines, manga and anime.

    Duke's Rubenstein Library has a strong collection of reports from missionaries, early British diplomats to Japan, the East India company papers, diaries and letters from merchants and seamen as well as items in such collections as the Stereographic card collection, 1860-1928, and the postcard collection.  For Japan, it also has the Papers of General Robert L. Eichelberger (1886-1961), who commanded all ground occupation troops in Japan (1945-1948), and materials related to Japanese advertising in the Hartman Center.   There are also smaller collections such as Japanese wartime propaganda publications.

        

      Japanese Studies Librarian

      Profile Image
      Kristina Troost
      Contact Info

      Kristina K Troost, PhD
      Bostock 228, 660-5844
      kristina.troost@duke.edu


      About this Guide

      This guide is based on the Japanese Collection at Duke. The top menu bar provides navigation between sections and links to related research guides.

      If you have questions or comments about this website, want to suggest a title for purchase, schedule a library instruction session, or set up a personal research consultation, please contact the Librarian for Japanese Studies.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip