LibGuides: Earth &amp; Climate Sciences: Geosciences

Online resources

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Search for earth science journal articles and U.S. Geological Survey publications
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Search for scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and mechanical engineering. Includes Inspec Archive – Science Abstracts 1898 – 1968.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Search for background information related to fields of engineering and applied sciences

USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
USGS Library
The U.S. Geological Survey Library is recognized as one of the world’s largest Earth and natural science libraries, providing services, collections, and expertise essential to the USGS mission.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Search for chemistry-related literature, patents, and substance and reaction data. NEW USERS: You must create an account here to begin using Scifinder-n.
Oxford Bibliographies: Geography This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in Geography.

Geologic Guidebooks of North America
The Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (United States, Canada, Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-the present.
Geological Surveys Database
The Geological Surveys Database includes publications from the state geological surveys and factsheets from the U.S. Geological Survey. The database is a hybrid bibliographic and full-text database, containing records that have either bibliographic information only or bibliographic and full-text information.

Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks Web Archive This link opens in a new window
This Archive project aims to preserve web-based geoscience field trip guidebooks which document local geologic information and are often ephemeral, and only available for a short time found in the Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database. This is an open access database.