These databases range from large, interdisciplinary citation databases to geoscience-specific databases to engineering-focused databases. Some databases will provide full-text access links, while others you will need to search for through our website. You can also browse databases by subject, such as environmental sciences or earth & climate sciences.
Looking for tips on how to search a scholarly database? Check out the Search the Literature section of our literature reviews guide.
Search for earth science journal articles and U.S. Geological Survey publications
Search for scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and mechanical engineering. Includes Inspec Archive – Science Abstracts 1898 – 1968.
Search for scholarly journals, patents, and conference proceedings in engineering
Search for chemistry-related literature, patents, and substance and reaction data. NEW USERS: You must create an account here to begin using Scifinder-n.
Scholarly journals are your best option for finding high-quality, peer-reviewed literature related to the environmental sciences. Below are a handful of top scholarly journals related broadly to the environmental sciences. For more specific recommendations, please select a Research Area for a curated list of journals.
When researching a recent topic, consider utilizing news sources for up-to-date information. News outlets are particularly useful when scholarly research on your topic is limited. However, exercise caution by critically evaluating bias and authority whenever consuming news.
Encyclopedias serve as valuable reference materials for academic research and writing as they provide detailed information on a wide range of topics. Encyclopedias often direct readers to important researchers and recommend relevant books and articles for further study.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science by 
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Second Edition by 
Encyclopedia of Solid Earth Geophysics by 
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by 
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences by 
Dictionaries provide users with clear, concise definitions of terms, especially academic jargon that can slow down the learning process. Maybe you're a first-year student new to a subject or a graduate student working on an interdisciplinary project—subject dictionaries can help get you up to speed.
Oxford Dictionary of Environment and Conservation, 3rd ed. by 
Oxford Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences, 5th ed. by 
Oxford Dictionary of Geography, 6th ed. by 
If you're looking for one spot to locate multiple reference works in either one or multiple subjects, check out these online collections of encyclopedias, dictionaries, articles, and other reference works.
Perkins, Bostock, & Rubenstein Libraries
Not sure where to find a physical book? View our floor plan to see where each section of books is housed at Perkins, Bostock, and Rubenstein Libraries.
Other tips:
Environmental sciences books by call number:
| Call number range | Topic |
|---|---|
| GB | Physical geography, including hydrology |
| GC | Oceanography |
| GE | Environmental sciences |
|
GE 170–190 |
Environmental policy |
| GE 300–350 |
Environmental management |
| GF | Human ecology |
| QC 801–849 | Geophysics & geomagnetism |
| QC 851–999 | Meteorology & climatology |
| QD 415–436 | Biochemistry |
| QE | Geology |
| QH 1-199.5 | Natural history, including conservation & geographical distribution |
| QH 301–705.5 | Biology |
|
QH 540–549.5 |
Ecology |
|
QH 705–705.5 |
Economic biology |
| QK | Botany |
| QL | Zoology |
| RA 565–600 | Environmental health |
| RA 1190–1270 | Toxicology |
| S | Agriculture |
| SB | Plant culture |
| SD | Forestry |
| SF | Animal culture |
| SH | Aquaculture |
| TA 703–712 | Engineering geology & soil mechanics |
| TC 401–948 | Water engineering, including flood control, dams, irrigation, etc. |
| TD | Environmental technology |
