Skip to Main Content

Earth & Climate Sciences

This guide serves the Duke community (students, staff, and faculty) in supporting research in earth & climate sciences.

Online resources

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly journals, conference proceedings, patents, government reports, and reference books in electronics, computer science, physics, electrical, and mechanical engineering. Includes Compendex and Engineering Index.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes:
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts‎ (1971 - current)
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database‎
- Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts‎ (1950 - current) and

Geologic Society of America (GSA): Meeting Abstracts
Provides online coverage from 2001 to present.

Preprint servers

Earth & Space Science Open Archive (ESSOAr)
The Earth and Space Science Open Archive is a community server established to accelerate the open discovery and dissemination of earth, environmental, and space science research by archiving and sharing early research outputs, including preprints, presentations from major scientific meetings, and important documents of scholarly societies.
EarthArXiv
Active since 2017, EarthArXiv is a preprint server devoted to open scholarly communication. EarthArXiv publishes articles from all subdomains of Earth Science and related domains of planetary science. The EarthArXiv platform assigns each submission a Digital Object Identifier (DOI), therefore assigning provenance and making it citable in other scholarly works.

⭐ Best bets

Organizations

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Reference books