LibGuides: Earth &amp; Climate Sciences: Climate change

Online resources

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science This link opens in a new window
Provides long-form articles written by experts in the field of Climate Science. This reference source aims to address all dimensions of climate science and climate change.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and actions to minimize negative impacts.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Search for earth science journal articles and U.S. Geological Survey publications

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications
Student and Youth Environmental Activism Web Archive This link opens in a new window
This Archive documents youth and student engagement in climate change and environmental issues from around the globe beginning in 2019. It contains websites and online documents created by individuals, groups, organizations, and coalitions of student and youth-led environmental activism. This is an open access database.
Trucost Climate Analytics via WRDS This link opens in a new window
Through company-level analysis, assess exposure to seven climate-change physical risk indicators, analyze exposure to carbon pricing risk under different future climate change scenarios and evaluate alignment with the Paris Agreement goal to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees C from pre-industrial levels.
After connecting to WRDS, select Get Data > Compustat-Capital IQ > Climate Analytics

Climate change evidence (NASA)
Scientific evidence, causes, effects, and FAQs on climate change.
Climate change fast facts (UN)
Regularly updated facts and findings on climate and its links to the economy, social issues, nature, and more.
Climate change impacts (NOAA)
A collection of resources related to the impacts of climate change on our ecosystems and communities.
Climate change science (EPA)
An overview of the science behind climate change.

Assessment reports (IPCC)
The IPCC prepares comprehensive Assessment Reports about knowledge on climate change, its causes, potential impacts and response options.
Climate change research publications (EPA)
List of journal articles and reports indexed in EPA's Science Inventory related to adaptation, air quality, ecosystem, and more.
Fifth National Climate Assessment (USGCRP)
The most comprehensive analysis of the state of climate change in the U.S.

The Climate Dictionary (UNDP)
The Climate Dictionary is an initiative aimed at providing an everyday guide to understanding climate change. It seeks to bridge the gap between complex scientific jargon and the general public, making climate concepts accessible and relatable to individuals from various backgrounds and levels of expertise.
National Weather Service Glossary
This glossary contains information on more than 2000 terms, phrases and abbreviations used by the NWS.

Climate at a Glance (NOAA)
Global- to city-scale temperature and precipitation data.
Climate Change Impacts and Risk Analysis (CIRA) (EPA)
The Climate Change Impacts and Risk Analysis (CIRA) project quantifies the physical effects and economic damages of climate change in the United States (U.S.). Using detailed models of sectoral impacts (e.g., human health, infrastructure, and water resources), the project seeks to quantify and monetize how risks, impacts, and damages may change in response to greenhouse gas mitigation and adaptation actions.
Climate change indicators table (EPA)
EPA has developed more than 50 climate change indicators that show changes over time and include more than 100 figures as graphs and maps.
Climate change tools (EPA)
Tools and other resources for states, tribes, local organizations, and research to prepare and respond to the impacts of climate change.
Climate Time Machine (NASA)
A series of visualizations depicting how Earth's key climate indicators have changed over time.
Global Ice Viewer (NASA)
Temporarily offline for maintenance, anticipated mid-April release.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
UN's body for assessing the science of climate change, contains special and methodological reports, and the most recent assessment report (AR6).
U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP)
Coordinates federal research and investments in understanding climate change and its impact on the global environment and society.

Pew Research Center: Climate, energy & environment
Reports, editorials, and fact sheets on topics related to climate change and environmental issues.
Carbon Footprint Calculator
The Web's leading carbon footprint calculator for individuals and households.
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)
Formerly known as the Pew Center on Global Climate Change, C2ES is a global leader and environmental policy think tank.
Climate data guide (NCAR)
The Climate Data Guide (or "Guide") is an expert knowledge portal providing concise and reliable information on the strengths and limitations of the climate data that are essential for measuring and predicting physical climate risk.