Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics: Econ Data

Definitions

Books that explain various economic indicators and terms, and how the figures are determined.

  • Guide to Economic Indicators, 4th ed., by Norman Frumkin.
    Perkins/Bostock Ref. HC103 .F9 2006
    Focus on the U.S. federal statistical agencies and their methodology.
  • The Economist Guide to Economic Indicators: Making Sense of Economics, by Richard Stutely.
    Call Numbers/Locations
    An international perspective, focusing on the top 15 industrial economies.
  • Economic Indicators Handbook: Time Series, Conversions, Documentation. 1992-.
    Perkins/Bostock Ref HB1 .E46 (older editions in Perkins stacks or in LSC)
  • O'Hara, Frederick M.  Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators.  2000.
    [paper editions in Duke Libraries]
Statistical Methods

Collection and analysis methods differ from one government agency to another, so similarly labeled data may not actually be equivalent. This can especially be a problem when trying to cobble together long time series from multiple sources.

Consult the source's documentation, looking for anything about "methodology."  The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) publishes a Handbook of Methods (Also in paper: Perkins Ref. U.S. L 2.3:2490) detailing their statistical concepts, definitions, sources, methods, and procedures.

US Economic Data

FedStats
Links to statistical data portals on U.S. federal government agency statistical websites.

Data.gov
Repository of raw empirical datasets from participating US federal agencies.

Statistical Abstract of the United States.  1878-2012. Proquest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.  2013-present
Perkins/Bostock Ref. Desk C 3.134:
Earlier editions also online, and older paper editions in Public Documents Stacks.
Published annually from 1878 to 2012 by the Bureau of the Census, and now by ProQuest. This is a standard national data book for United States statistics. The footnotes also provide a guide to other statistical sources.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Good for long statistical summarized time series relating to the USA, mostly derived from government data, most at the national or state level. Also in paper at Perkins/Bostock Ref. Desk HA202 .H57 2006.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A wealth of empirical data on the US economy.  Lots of long time series.  Also links to Alfred (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data) and other related collections of Fed data and publications.

NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Datasets available from the NBER or otherwise associated with the NBER research program. NBER's Other Data Collections links to government departments and agencies, all branches of the Federal Reserve, and a variety of other sources for statistical data.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium For Political And Social Research) Organization at the University of Michigan that collects data from individual researchers, polling agencies, and and governmental and international agencies. Data is often in ASCII delimited format with documentation such as codebooks and sometimes auxiliary files to use in SPSS or SAS.

EconoMagic.com
Lots of long time series, especially from US government agencies (Federal Reserve Board, Bureau of Labor Statistics, etc.).

Derks, Scott, ed. The Value of a Dollar : Colonial Era to the Civil War, 1600-1865. 2005
Perkins/Bostock HB235.U6 V358 2005 or online
Derks, Scott and Tony Smith, eds. The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2009. 4th ed., 2009.
Perkins/Bostock HB235.U6 V35 2009 or 3d ed. (2004) online
Divided into time periods which reflect major economic changes in America, then subdivided into following topics: historical snapshot, investments, selected income, standard jobs, food basket, selected prices, and standard prices.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes US government empirical data sources (as well as state, IGO, and privately published sources).  Recent titles often contain the full text online or a link to it.  Otherwise, material is in the Perkins Public Documents collection in the ASI microfiche collection or in paper.

General Links to Data

Data and GIS Services at Perkins Library (Data by Keyword or Title)
Links to economic statistics and other empirical datasets, searchable by keyword or title.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER): Other Data Collections
Links to government departments and agencies, the Federal Reserve (including links to all branches), international organizations such as World Bank, and a variety of other sources for statistical data.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER): Public Use Data Archive
Datasets available from the NBER or otherwise associated with the NBER research program

RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet: Data
Links from the American Economic Association (AEA).

Financial Data

Bloomberg Professional (Available in person in the Data/GIS Services computer lab or at the Ford Business Library)

DataStream (Available in person at the Ford Business Library)

Global Financial Database (GFD)
Long historical time series of macroeconomic and financial data.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Portal to datasets providing financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking and insurance data