Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics: Directories & Biographies

Useful Catalog Subject Headings

Useful subject headings in the library catalog:

Directories (Persons and Institutions)

American Economic Association Directory of Members
Basic infomation can be found in the AEA's current online directory.  There's also an Adobe Acrobat version of the directory that may not be quite as up-to-date.

Business and Economics Research Directory. 1996.
Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB74.5 .B875 1996
Lists almost 2,000 research institutes worldwide organized by country, with an alphabetical index, and about 1,500 periodical titles listed alphabetically. University departments and business schools are not included.

Capie, Forrest. Directory of Economic Institutions. 1990.
Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB74.5 .C37 1990
Organized by country and with an alphabetical index, intended to be of use to organizations who may commission research or request existing reports. The country listings give information about the nature of each organization, including the research interests, publications, objectives, and executives.

EDRIC : Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World
Web database maintained by Christian Zimmerman of the University of Connecticut. 

ECONworld
Alphabetical listing of the homepages of economic departments around the United States, along with some government agencies and other economics websites.

Biographical Sources

Blaug, Mark, ed. Who's Who in Economics. Fourth edition, 2003.
(Also paper at Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB76 .W47 2003)
Covers about 1100 living and 500 deceased economists from 1700 to 1996. Inclusion of living persons is determined by how frequently their work is cited in scholarly journals, and they write the entries for themselves. Information includes jobs held, education, offices/honors, fields of interest, major publications, and a paragraph on principal contributions to the field.

Arestis, Philip and Malcolm Sawyer. A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists. 2nd ed. 2000.
(Also paper at Perkins/Bostock Ref. HB76 .B5 2000)
Contains biographies of 20th century economists who have dissented with neoclassical economics. Most entries are written by the economists themselves if they are living. Entries vary in style and length, but each includes a listing of the person's major publications.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. 2008
(Also paper at Perkins/Bostock Ref. H40.A2 I5 2008)
The 9 volumes contain many biographies of noted economists. There are more biographies in older editions:

  • 1968 edition (17 volumes online).
    The biographies in the v.18 Biographical Supplement add to those included in the main set: Perkins/Bostock Stacks H40.A2 I5 1968 v.18
  • The 1935 Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences (Perkins/Bostock Stacks H41 .E6 1937) contains many biographies not found in the later sets.

Blaug, Mark. Great Economists Since Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives and Works of One Hundred Modern Economists. 1985.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks HB76 .B55 1985

Blaug, Mark. Great Economists Before Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives and Works of One Hundred Great Economists of the Past. 1986.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks HB76 .B54 1986

Who's Who in British Economics: A Directory of Economists in Higher Education, Business and Government. 1990.
Perkins/Bostock Ref. HC252.2 .W46 1990