Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics: Working Papers

Working Papers

Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Some also in paper: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals (most are offsite at LSC): W926G through 11/1999  Law Library: check individual title online catalog for call number.
Also indexed selectively in Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics and in Econlit. The paper issues at Duke are cataloged only under the series title (see the holdings under the main series entry in the library catalog), while the set at the Law Library is listed in the online catalog by the individual titles. Perkins titles, however, are virtually complete since #3940 through November 1999, with scattered issues before #3940.

EconPapers from RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) 
"World's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software." Also searchable through the EconLit database.

RAND Corporation Reports
Not exactly working papers, but reports created under commission (mostly for government agencies) by the RAND Corporation.  Many relate to economics, policy, and related subjects.  Most are free online, but the library also has a large collection of them in paper, so you can also check the library catalog.

EconWPA
Another working paper gateway, arranged by the category codes used in the Journal of Economic Literature. No longer being updated, this is the archive of what was formerly at EconWPA.wustl.edu, formerly maintained by Bob Parks.

Federal Reserve Working Papers
Many of the working paper series from Federal Reserve district banks are included in the American Statistics Index (ASI) microfiche collection in the Perkins/Bostock Public Documents and Maps Dept.; you can get the fiche call number from the ProQuest Statistical Insight database (available on the web to Duke users). Many series are also online;  there are links to the district banks from the Federal Reserve Board of Governors web site.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Working Papers
Selected IMF working papers are included in the Index to International Statistics (IIS) microfiche collection in the Perkins/Bostock Public Documents and Maps Dept.;  you can get the fiche call number from the ProQuest Statistical Insight database (available on the web to Duke users).  You can also retrieve the full text of some IMF working papers electronically from the IMF web site (choose "Working Papers" or other series in the "series" drop-down).

World Bank Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP)
These are included as part of the World Bank e-Library, an online collection of .pdf documents.  Other books and journals from the World Bank are also available through this database.

Institute for International Economics (IIE) Working Papers
Many titles in IIE's Working Paper Series are available full text from the IIE web site.

Duke University Department of Economics Working Papers
Online versions available back to the mid-1990s.  Most available full-text in Adobe Acrobat format. Some that have been peer reviewed and subsequently published just have abstracts and a citation to the published version.  Many older numbers are available in the University Archives in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library or directly from the author.  Simple listing at Duke Economics website.

Wharton Financial Institutions Center Working Papers
At the University of Pennsylvania. Papers in recent years are all available full-text online, in Adobe Acrobat format.