LibGuides: Food Studies: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Why, What and How We Eat: Business

Scope

Agriculture, whether on a small farm or on an industrial scale, is always a business whether it incorporates financial transactions or an exchange of goods.

Food Business

Image: https://bit.ly/342zCgs

Market Updates

OECD/FAO Agricultural Outlook

Monthly News Reports on Grains

Rice Market Monitor

Oilcrops Monthly Price and Policy Monitor

Other commodity markets

Statistics

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Find Articles

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the field of economics
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, trade journals and market research reports with business and economic information
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on management, finance, economics, industry, accounting, and international business from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. Includes Political Risk Yearbooks.
Political Risk Yearbooks provide probability forecasts for political, social and economic trends for 100 countries, and are included in Business Source Complete since 2003. In the "Publication" field in the Advanced Search, search for Political Risk Yearbook and the name of the country.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and news coverage for many subjects
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Search for the financial information of over 14,000 active and inactive U.S. public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges
Investext access in Mergent Online ends by 11/1/24.

Archival data includes full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for more than 12,000 US companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Company Data - covers over 27,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Archival data includes financial information on 12,000 non-U.S. companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged from 1995 onward. Duke's subscribed modules include: U.S. Company data, International Company data, D&B Private Company data, Global Industry Reports, and Investext Snapshot analyst reports.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Search for full text market research reports focusing on companies and broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology. Market analysis and forecasting looks at major issues and threats for each sector with analytical commentary and data.

Additional Reading

Agricultural policy, agribusiness, and rent-seeking behavior (2010). Andrew Schmitz, et al. (Eds.) Toronto: University of Toronto Press.

Frontiers of commodity chain research [electronic resource] (2009). Jennifer Bair., and Bair J. (Eds.) Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.

Global sustainability as a business imperative (2010). James A.F. Stoner and Charles Wankel., James Stoner, and Wankel C. (Eds.) NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

Growth and productivity in agriculture and agribusiness: Evaluative lessons from world bank group experience [electronic resource]. (2011). In World Bank. (Ed.) Washington, D.C.: World Bank.

Hamilton, L. M. (2009). Deeply rooted: Unconventional farmers in the age of agribusiness. Berkeley: Counterpoint.

Local food movement (2010). Amy Francis b. e., Francis A. (Eds.) Detroit: Greenhaven Press. Retrieved from

Millennium, C. C. (2010). Agribusiness development initiative: Reducing poverty by expanding investments [electronic resource].

Norberg-Hodge, H. (2002). Bringing the food economy home: Local alternatives to global agribusiness. Gorelick S., and Merrifield T. (Eds.), Bloomfield, CT: Zed Books; Fernwood Pub. Retrieved from