Food Studies: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Why, What and How We Eat: Rubenstein Library

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture 

Laura Micham, Director, laura.m@duke.edu

Relevant collections include women's prescriptive literature; cookbooks; and personal papers that include letters and diaries.

Human Rights Archive 

• Human Rights Archivist:  Patrick Stawski, patrick.stawski@duke.edu

Manuscript collections include:

• Student Action with Farmworkers Records
• Joan Preiss Papers, 1970-2006: community and labor movement organizer in Durham, N.C.

Duke University Archives

University Archivist: Valerie Gillispie, valerie.gillispie@duke.edu

Collections include:

• Dining Services Reference Collection
• Theodore W. "Ted" Minah Records and Papers,1941-1975 and undated: Minah was Director of Duke University Dining Halls from 1946-1974
• Student Organizations Reference Collection:Records of the Intergalactic Food Conspiracy (Duke Food Co-op) 1976-1980
• Duke Vigil Collection, 1968 - 1988: Documentation of the strike of housekeeping and food services staff and the student boycott of the dining halls

John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History 

Reference Archivist:  Josh Larkin Rowley, joshua.larkinrowley@duke.edu

Collections include food advertisements (print, outdoor, and TV) for a wide range of products; advertising cookbooks; detailed documentation of campaigns for ad agency clients such as Kraft and General Foods from 19th century to the present.

Archive of Documentary Arts

Collections include:

• Full Frame Inventory: Collection includes: Super Size Me (2003), A Love Supreme (2001), and Taking Root: The Vision of Wangari Maathai (2008)

Visual and Audiovisual collections include:

• Rob Amberg Photographs and Papers, 1975-2009 and undated: Photographs document the changes on life in rural western North Carolina caused by industrial and economic development.

John Hope Franklin Research Center for African and African-American History and Culture

Librarian: John Gartrell
john.gartrell@duke.edu

Collections include:

• Behind the Veil: Documenting African-American Life in the Jim Crow South Records, 1940-1997and undated:Oral history collection includes sharecroppers and other African Americans involved in agriculture.

History of Medicine Collections

Curator: Rachel Ingold
rachel.ingold@duke.edu

Relevant collections/materials:Print materials relating to food and nutrition from the 17th century to 20th century, including:

• nutrition and feeding for infants/children and mortality
• nutrition's impact on disease
• home health and domestic guidebooks on diet and nutrition