Women at Duke University

You can see some collections below that pertain to issues concerning reproductive rights below. There are even more collections here!

• Women's Center records, 1970-2014
  • Box 5 includes materials about abortion and university activism
• Associated Students of Duke University records, 1965-1991
  • Box 17: Duke Students for Life
  • Box 54: contains material about the Abortion Loan Fund, which was established in 1971
• Minister to the University (Dean of the Chapel) records, 1940-1984
  • Box 5 includes folders "Pro-Abortion, 1976-1978" and "Anti-Abortion, 1978"
• Woman's College records, 1928-1974
  • Box 28 includes a folder called "Contraceptives and Abortion." You can see the digitized materials here. 
• A guide to contraception and abortion.

Some collections concerning sexual health and sexuality are below. For more collections on LGBTQIA+ history, please check out this libguide. 

• Student Life Reference collection, 1963-ongoing
  • Folders: "Healthy Devils, circa 1985-" "Sexuality,1971-1990," "Sexuality: PISCES, ca. 1976-1978."
• Student Organizations reference collection, 1913-2022
  • Box 6: Pisces (Peer Information Service for Counseling and Education in Sexuality)
• It's Raining Men: Sex and Identity in African-American Culture Student Zines, 2002.
  • Collection (02-138) documents a course taught Spring 2002 by David Woodard, a graduate student in the English department. Includes sixteen zines produced by undergraduate students as a final project for the course. Subjects include sexuality in general, and homosexuality in particular; racism; body image; feminism, especially "diva" culture; the search for identity; and health, especially eating disorders.