Women at Duke University

The links below will take you to the collection guide for each collection. See the "Introduction" tab of this guide for guidance on accessing these collections.

The archival collections in this section are presented chronologically, so that researchers can follow the evolution of women's education at Duke.

Please note that administrative office records are restricted for a period of twenty-five years from the origin of the material. To use these materials, permission must be obtained from the office of origin and the University Archivist.

The collections below are the personal and professional papers of female Duke faculty and staff. In general, they will contain administrative documentation about Duke University and about each scholar's academic department(s), as well as their independent research interests and organizational associations.

• Biographical files on each woman (and other women administrators, faculty, and staff) may be found in the Biographical Reference Collection or the News Service Biographical Files.
• Photographs of each woman (and other women administrators, faculty, and staff) may be found in the University Archives Photograph Collection.

Please note that administrative Duke records are restricted for a period of twenty-five years from the origin of the material. To use these materials, permission must be obtained from the office of origin and the University Archivist.

• Portions of these materials are restricted by donor request; please contact University Archives staff for more information.
• Documentation about Professor Scott's research, writing, and professional associations may be found in the Anne Firor Scott Papers, 1939-2009. Portions of this collection are restricted as well; please contact the staff of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture for more information.