Women at Duke University

Woman's College Oral History Project Records, 2003-2006: Nine interviews with alumnae of the Duke University Woman's College conducted by Carolyn Murray Happer from 2003 to 2004. Interviewees discuss their experiences and perceptions from their years at Duke University during the period of the co-ordinate college (1930-1972). The women interviewed include several class leaders who have had long-established ties to the school after graduation, such as Mary Duke Biddle Trent Semans, a member of the Duke family. The collection also includes one recording of alumnae reminisces from the 75th anniversary celebration of the Woman's College Library in 2006.

The Woman's College of Duke University, 1930-1972: A Legacy of Excellence and Leadership

Sounds Dangerous (see Women's Center Records)

The bulk of the photographs available at the Duke University Archives are housed in two collections:

• University Archives Photograph Collection, 1861-ongoing. Here are some suggested folders/boxes within this collection. 
  • Box 37: Athena (Women's Literary Society)
  • Boxes 38-43 include women's athletics
  • Box 69: Physical Education, Women's 
  • Box 72: Sororities; Sororities, Black
  • Box 77: Women's Student Government Association; Young Women's Christian Association

• University Archives Photographic Negative Collection, 1855-1995

These collections may be requested and reviewed in our reading room, where scanning equipment is available for your use at no charge. Additional fee-based reproduction services are also offered.

Many of the photographs from these two collections have been digitized and made available online as part of our Flickr photostream.

• These may be downloaded directly from Flickr for private research, study, and teaching (with credit given to the "Duke University Archives").
• Please contact us to request permission for other uses of these materials, such as in commercial products or for broadcast or publication.

Alumnae scrapbooks are excellent sources for photographs of women students at Duke University. See the "Students" and "Student Organizations" Records pages of this libguide for a list of these scrapbooks.

The University Archives collections listed below are our main sources for audio, film, and video recordings produced by university- and student-run media organizations.

• Radio TV Services Records, ca. 1937-2012
  • Miss Heather Low, Pres, Women's Student Government, Feb. 9, 1965
  • Interview: Dean Margaret Ball on Education and Women, Oct. 26, 1965
  • Women's Initiative, press copy, 2003-09-23

• Media Services Audio and Video Records, 1963-ongoing

• WDBS Collection, 1949-1983

• Cable 13 Videotapes, 1976-1982
  • Includes recordings of women's athletics
  • Mary Lou Williams Interview, 1979-03-07
  • Sexpressions: Women's Health Educators, 1994-04-21
  • Black Butterfly: The African-Am Woman Speaks, 1993-1994
  • Open Minds: Sexual Assault, 1993-1994

These recordings document:

• major campus events, including public lectures and performances and university commencement ceremonies
• selected sports events
• press conferences and interviews with campus administrators and faculty
• promotional pieces

Use copies of these recordings may have to be prepared before they may be viewed or listened to; please contact the Duke University Archives staff to inquire about using these recordings.

To locate additional audio and video recordings—including oral history interviews and audio or film recordings of sports events—try searching the Duke University Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Sound Recordings" or "Video Recordings."