LibGuides: Physics: Find Articles

arXiv.org
Collection of pre-print articles in physics, mathematics, statistics and computer science.
INSPIRE - HEP database
Provides more than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed since 1974. Originally SPIRES.
more...less...
CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE. It combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of the four labs, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.
INSPEC - part of Engineering Village
Extensive database of scholarly, trade and government publications in electronics, computer science, physics, electrical, and mechanical engineering. Includes Axiom, Compendex, INSPEC, Engineering Index, and CRC Press Handbooks.
Web of Science
Comprehensive multidisciplinary database across all scientific and mathematical fields. Includes unique citation analysis feature.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and quality web sources.
Physical review online archive (PROLA)
American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893–2009
CERN document server
A source for particle physics and related areas, this site includes the bibliographic records and full-text of preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more

Other Recommended Databases

Annual Reviews
Collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars in chemistry, engineering, physics, materials, etc.
SPIE Digital Library
World's largest collection of research papers in optics and photonics. Provides engineers and scientists with the latest information on light-based technologies—astronomy, biomedical optics, defense and security, energy, illumination and displays, medical imaging, nanophotonics, sensors, and many more.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.5 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints
SpringerLink
Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles and book chapters as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
more...less...
Browse by discipline --> Physics
Uncheck "preview only" to see full text offerings
Over 650,000 full access items related to Physics
Science Direct
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences
more...less...
- Use the search feature, or browse by subject --> Physics and Astronomy
- Can further narrow down with facets on left side menu
- Also can change the filter by access to "full text access" - this will provide open access as well as subscription access to full text
Google Scholar
Set preferences (icon in upper right) to Duke University Libraries if you're off campus