History of Pediatrics: Twentieth Century

These links are sample searches in the Duke Libraries catalog based on library subject headings related to the history of pediatrics. You can limit by location to "Rubenstein Library" to focus on historical sources. 

• Pediatrics -- 20th cent

• Bernard Sachs. A treatise on the nervous diseases of children : for physicians and students. (1905).
• L. Emmett Holt. The care and feeding of children : a catechism for the use of mothers and children's nurses. (1928)

Holt’s book, originally published in 1894, started out as a quick 66 page guide for mothers and children’s nurses, which was progressively expanded , went through many editions (this is the 13^th), and was translated into multiple languages.

• L. Emmett Holt. Holt's diseases of infancy and childhood : a textbook for the use of students and practitioners. (1940).

Originally published in 1896, this medical textbook for physicians, has been through multiple editions (this is the 11^th), and evolved into Rudolph’s Pediatrics, earning it a spot as the longest pediatric textbook in continuous print.

• Theodor Escherich. Papers, 1887-1908.

• John Ridlon papers, 1846-1936 and undated

John Ridlon was a physician, surgeon, and professor specializing in orthopedic medicine, with a focus on pediatrics, practicing in New York State and Chicago, Illinois. Collection consists of medical case files and casebooks; articles and papers; correspondence; ephemera; diplomas; photographs in the form of prints, negatives, and glass plates; and medical illustrations.

• Sir D'Arcy Power collection of antiquarian medicine extracts, 1833-1920.

The materials collected by Power document major medical breakthroughs and issues and techniques of the day, including infectious diseases, anaesthesia, x-rays, surgical techniques, vaccinations, treatments for diseases, women's health, pediatrics, mesmerism, and many more topics. They also comment on significant physicians and scientists of the times.

• Scale for weighing infants, late 19th century - mid-20th century

• From the Ad*Access Collection, which contains over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955:

Disease Germs Lurk On Half-Clean Hands!!! Play Safe!

"Everything's hunky-dory...Doctor ordered Ivory!"

• From the Medicine and Madison Avenue Collection, which contains about 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States:

Physicians' Babies Are Better Babies

• From the Protestant Children and Families Collection, which contains articles and advertising images of Protestant children and families in the U.S. from Protestant-supported or targeted magazines:

Visit with the Doctor.

• From the Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions (ROAD) Collection, a portal to more than 30,000 images of outdoor advertisements from five different source collections:

The World's Greatest Philanthropy. Shriners Hospitals for Crippled Children.