African American History Manuscript Collections in the Rubenstein Library

African-American civil rights activist from Durham, N.C; subject of the 2002 film, An Unlikely Friendship. Collection comprises master copies (4 audiocassettes and a Digibeta videotape) for Jeff Storer's oral interviews with Atwater, an African-American civil rights activist based in Durham, North Carolina, regarding her friendship with Ku Klux Klan leader C. P. Ellis.

Collection comprises Association of Citizen's Councils' position statements, directives, articles, and handbills on the subjects of voting rights, school integration, civil rights protests, infiltration of the Southern Civil Rights movement by Communists, and segregation.

The collection includes three publications related to the campaign to free Mrs. Rosa Lee Ingram, an African American sharecropper and widowed mother of twelve in southwest Georgia, along with two of her sons, Wallace and Sammie Lee Ingram, who were serving life sentences for the 1947 death of their white sharecropper neighbor, John Ethron Stratford. The handling of the case aroused concern about racial injustice in the southern judicial system which led to the formation of a national campaign for clemency.

Carl Pope (1961- ) is an American artist and printmaker. Collection consists of two black-and-white letterpress posters on 22x14 inch cardboard. The first poster reads, "Black lives matter: it ain't what the news told ya!" The second reads, "Is America the America I learned to imagine?"

Collection comprises a vertical file on the subject "Civil Rights." The compiler of the material is unknown.

Collection includes around 80 items, dated 1963 to 1968, that document events surrounding Rev. David S. King and his part in the civil rights movement. Items include letters to King while he was in jail and leading up to his arrest during a protest in Williamston, North Carolina in 1963.

This collection documents the case of Joan Little, an African-American woman from Eastern North Carolina who was tried for the capital offense of first-degree murder when she killed a jailer who had sexually assaulted her. She was aquitted of this charge, and her story became a flash point for women's rights, prisoner's rights, and the issue of racism in the criminal justice system.

Collection comprises a reel-to-reel audiotape featuring John Beecher's reading of four poems: Their Blood Cries Out, Free World Notes, Woke Up This Morning with My Mind Set on Freedom, and In Egypt Land. He also commented on current events of the time, including civil rights activities and violence against African Americans. Beecher gave permission to tape the reading.

Collection comprises a file Jackson compiled on the Wilmington Ten, civil rights activists who in 1972 were convicted by a jury of firebombing a grocery store in Wilmington, North Carolina.

This collection contains correspondence and associated materials of Kivie Kaplan, president of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1966 to 1975. The bulk of the materials are sixteen of Kaplan's letters sent to Harold Gilden, a noted Chicago labor attorney.

This guide is an aggregated of materials related to the work and legacy of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.

Collection contains Ralph Abernathy's sermon "A Short Letter to Martin Luther King" (13 pages typescript) on the passing of Martin Luther King, Jr., delivered in Atlanta on 7 April 1968.

Robert S. Rankin was a professor of Political Science at Duke University and member of the United States Commission on Civil Rights. Collection documents Rankin's work on the U.S. Civil Rights Commission, 1960-1973 and consists of agendas and minutes for the monthly meetings of the commission, 1959-1973.

Collection comprises eight items, including flyers, a request for contributions, memoranda, instructions, and reports.

Collection comprises information the Southern Student Organizing Committee sent to campus contacts across the South. Includes fundraising information, a history, by-laws, and information regarding the organization's conferences and participation in Civil Rights demonstrations.

Theresa El-Amin started her career as a civil rights activist when she joined the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) in 1965 as a student at Tuskegee University. Activist and union organizer who was involved with the Coalition of Labor Union Women, the Service Employees International Union, the Black Radical Congress, the Black Workers for Justice, Jobs with Justice, Solidarity, and the Durham NAACP.

The United States Commission on Civil Rights North Carolina Advisory Committee Papers span the years 1949 to 1962, but fall chiefly in the period 1957 to 1962. The collection documents methods of data collection for social research that is directed to governmental policy change. The research particularly focuses on racial discrimination against and the civil rights of African Americans, and to a lesser extent Native Americans, in North Carolina.

Collection contains primarily a 10-page journal maintained between 1-20 November 1963 by an unidentified, white, protestant minister from the Boston area, who traveled to Williamston, N.C., to participate in civil rights protest marches meant to end segregation there.