African American History Manuscript Collections in the Rubenstein Library

Collection comprises 9 items from and to Anna Julia Cooper regarding the disposition and placement of the Charlotte Forten Grimke diaries and her desire to bring all five of Grimke's diaries into a single repository.

Black educator, journalist, and reformer from Raleigh, North Carolina. Correspondence, scrapbooks of clippings, print material such as articles and reports, and other papers, all dating from the Civil War into the first few decades of the 20th century.

Through professional correspondence, research and writings materials, and professional service files, the collection documents the career of Darlene Clark Hine, professor of African American history, college administrator, and published author on African American history in the United States.

Collection consists of a letter from Carver discussing two students and religion.

The papers of Gordon Blaine Hancock, clergyman, journalist, educator, and civil rights spokesman, the collection relates primarily to Hancock's efforts to increase opportunities for Blacks. In 1942, with P. B. Young, editor of the Norfolk Journal and Guide and black historian Luther P. Jackson of Virginia State College, he helped organize the Southern Conference on Race Relations.

Helen Edmonds was a historian, scholar, and civic leader. She was the first African American woman to earn a doctorate from Ohio State University, the first to become a graduate school dean, and the first to second the nomination of a United States presidential candidate. Two large sections of materials concern Edmonds' interests and activities as a member of the Republican Party and her work as an alternate delegate to the U.N. General Assembly, 1970.

Author and scholar of religion and African American studies. Collection includes Boykin's drafts and published writings on religion, African American history, imperialism, and AIDS.

The Dr. John E. Fleming collection includes Fleming's personal files, administrative materials, and collected documents from his education and professional life as a professor and museum administrator.

The John Hope Franklin papers document the whole of Franklin's professional career as a historian, as well as his personal life, early student years, and political interests. Collection materials include correspondence, research materials assembled by Franklin, writings by and about Franklin, drafts of writings, materials relating to family history, printed material, notebooks, information and multimedia packets, clippings, photographs, video and sound recordings, as well as a few artifacts.

The Leslie Brown papers span extensive information regarding her professional interest in African-American history and the preparation of oral histories, especially those related to the Behind the Veil project at Duke University's Center for Documentary Studies. There is also extensive information regarding her professional interest in African-American history and the preparation of oral histories.

Collection includes materials from Lionel Barrow's advertising career, his teaching and tenure at Howard University, and his involvement in the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC). The earliest materials include student work from Barrow's youth and his studies at Morehouse College, as well as materials from his service in the 24th Infantry Regiment during the Korean War.

The Robert A. Hill Collection covers the period of 1800 to 2014 and documents Hill's research, writing, and publications about Marcus Garvey's life and work and the founding of the Universal Negro Improvement Association (UNIA), as well as Hill's many other projects. Hill's collection of research materials range from manuscripts, photocopies of microfilm and original sources, newspaper clippings, annotated printed materials, photographs, scholar's correspondence, FBI records, and annotated drafts from U.S. and international archives, universities, and libraries.

Collection contains letters from Hill to Ms. Ethel Harrison, programs, book PR, LPs, and clippings related to author's life and works. The letters provide a glimpse into the life of an African-American poet, and his teaching and writings in the mid to late 20th century.

The Samuel DuBois Cook Papers contains Cook's speech files, drafts and copies of Cook's writings, and other assorted papers including correspondence and subject folders for his research and writings on Benjamin Elijah Mays. Cook was the first African American professor to hold a regular faculty appointment at a predominantly white college or university in the South (Duke University) and became president of Dillard University, serving 22 years until his retirement in 1997.

Collection comprises 66 cassette tapes containing oral history interviews with prominent African Americans, conducted for Banks' book BLACK INTELLECTUALS: RACE AND RESPONSIBILITY IN AMERICAN LIFE (1996), co-authored with John Hope Franklin.