African American History Manuscript Collections in the Rubenstein Library

Thirty-three 1/4-inch open-reel audio tapes recording meetings of various directors and committee members of the Bedford-Stuyvesant Community Cooperative, especially the founders, Gerald Schaflander and Henry Etzkowitz. Issues discussed include disagreements, employment and firings, stealing, finances, violence and gang fights, drugs, students, the FBI, and black and white division of labor. Notes on some of the boxes include names of persons involved, events, quotes, and content.

The Behind the Veil: Documenting African-American Life in the Jim Crow South Records span the years 1940-1997 (bulk 1993-1997) and are comprised chiefly of interviews recorded on cassette tapes. The 1260 interviews, 1993-1997, in this collection cover a number of topics related to African-American life in the 20th century with a focus on the age of southern segregation.

Audio interviews and programs recorded by Charles E. Cobb, Jr., from 2012 to 2014, with members of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and others around the 50th anniversary of Freedom Summer and for research for Cobb's book, THIS NONVIOLENT STUFF'LL GET YOU KILLED: HOW GUNS MADE THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT POSSIBLE.

Oral history and research collection forming the basis for Duke University undergraduate Chris D. Howard's 1983 senior honors thesis, including research notes and recorded interviews with political and civil rights leaders in Durham, North Carolina.

The Duke University Oral History Program Collection contains 238 oral history interviews conducted by project participants in the years 1973-1978 and 1992. The majority of the oral history interviews deal with the civil rights movement in North Carolina, especially Durham, Chapel Hill, and Greensboro. Additionally, thirteen interviews deal with the Tulsa Race Riots, and fourteen interviews cover miscellaneous North Carolina topics.

The collection chronicles the work of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and its involvement with resident civil rights activists in Mississippi. Materials consist primarily of recorded oral histories and their transcriptions, but also extend to speeches and unpublished papers.

It contains two DVD-R copies of an interview conducted by Joseph Cofield on November 23, 2013. Joseph Cofield performed an oral history interview with Mr. Joseph Minter, age 99, resident of Raliegh, NC. Mr. Minter offers reflections of his experience growing up in Raleigh during the Civil Rights Era.

Audio and video of meetings and activities of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee in Georgia recorded by Larry Rubin in the early 1960s; audio letters from Larry Rubin to his parents from Georgia in the early 1960s,

The collection consists mainly of oral history interview tapes and transcripts, but also includes interview notes and research files related to Chafe's book Civilities and Civil Rights: Greensboro, North Carolina, and the Black Struggle for Freedom.

Collection comprises 66 cassette tapes containing oral history interviews with prominent African Americans, conducted for Banks' book BLACK INTELLECTUALS: RACE AND RESPONSIBILITY IN AMERICAN LIFE (1996), co-authored with John Hope Franklin. I

African-American civil rights activist from Durham, N.C; subject of the 2002 film, An Unlikely Friendship. Collection comprises master copies (4 audiocassettes and a Digibeta videotape) for Jeff Storer's oral interviews with Atwater, an African-American civil rights activist based in Durham, North Carolina, regarding her friendship with Ku Klux Klan leader C. P. Ellis.