Collection consists mainly of letters sent from Greely to his brother, John Augustus Greely, and to his likely brother-in-law, John W. Winder. Greely describes the political events leading up to the New Orleans Massacre (New Orleans Race Riot) of 1866, his unit's role in the conflict, and the impact that the conflict had on his career trajectory.
The Cronly family included Michael Cronly, Sr., auctioneer and real estate broker of Wilmington, N.C. and his wife, Margaret McLaurin Cronly and their nine children. Box 21 contains a account books, one is described as (race riot account)
The Duke University Oral History Program Collection contains 238 oral history interviews conducted by project participants in the years 1973-1978 and 1992. Thirteen interviews deal with the Tulsa Race Riots
Panorama of Greenwood section of Tulsa, OK after the Tulsa Race Massacre, Events of the Tulsa Disaster, Parrish Mary E. Jones, 1922
The John Hope Franklin papers document the whole of Franklin's professional career as a historian, as well as his personal life, early student years, and political interests. Franklin's father Buck Colbert Franklin was a resident of Tulsa during the Tulsa Massacre of 1921. Materials in the collection are related to the massacre and it's legacies.
Mattice was mayor of Asbury Park during the July 1970 riots. The riots lasted from July 4-10, 1970. They began in reaction to the African American community’s frustration with employment discrimination and the poor living conditions in the predominately African American West side neighborhood.
Collection comprises eight items, including flyers, a request for contributions, memoranda, instructions, and reports. Topics include police treatment of Alabama civil rights protesters in 1963, the organization's work in Chicago following the Watts riots...
Activist and union organizer who was involved with the Coalition of Labor Union Women, the Service Employees International Union, the Black Radical Congress, the Black Workers for Justice, Jobs with Justice, Solidarity, and the Durham NAACP. The Black Liberation Historical Documents Series contains articles on the condition of African Americans by Bayard Rustin, as well as coverage of the Watts riot and recovery of the Watts area.
Collection chiefly contains material concerning the Wilmington, N.C. race riot of 1898, as described as a first hand account by Colonel Thomas W. Clawson. Also included are "Recollections and Memories," written by Clawson ca. 1942; "Exhibit A," consisting of a copy of a controversial editorial in the Wilmington Record on Aug. 18, 1898, and a few other papers.