African American History Manuscript Collections in the Rubenstein Library

One-folder collection of 19th century legal papers and correspondence concerning the migratory movements, legal status, life situations, and relationships of members of a free African American family.

The papers of the Blunt family, an African American family originating in the tidewater region of Virginia, span the years 1943-1965 with segments settled at other points along the east coast and to the west.

The Davis family, originally of Hampton, Virginia, is a prominent African-American family whose members include authors, journalists, photographers, filmmakers, composers, and educators who have made significant contributions to American history and culture. The collection includes photograph albums, loose photographs, and writings documenting the history of the African American Davis family in Hampton, Virginia from the 1930s to the 1950s as well as family members at later points.

Collection comprises 69 items, primarily family correspondence between Lawyer and Hattie Dykes by their brothers, Leo Dykes and Benjamin J. Peavy, from their military posts during World War II.

African-American family based in Greensboro (Guildford Co.), North Carolina. Waldo C. Falkener served on the Greensboro City Council from 1959-1963. His wife, Margaret, was also politically active. The collection primarily documents the political career of Waldo C. Falkener, and comprises minutes and reports from Greensboro City Council meetings.

Collection consists largely of correspondence between historian Nell Irvin Painter and her parents (1969-2003), documenting various stages of their lives, travels, and Painter's scholarly career.

Correspondence and legal and financial papers from the late 19th and early 20th centuries of several generations of a rural black family in Washington County, Virginia. Topics concern personal and family matters, men working away from home, county taxes, black societies, religious activities, insurance and other topics.

African American farmer and family of Meadowview (Washington County), Virginia. Correspondence, legal, and financial papers of several generations of a rural black family in Washington County, Va., concerning personal and family matters, men working away from home, county taxes, black societies, religious activities, insurance and other topics.

The correspondence between Martha and Paul D. Simpson, an African American couple from Virginia, spans their time spent earning teaching degrees (1948-1952) and details not only their personal lives, but also discusses work, religion, race, and their education.

Chiefly letters written between James Pruden, a domestic at the Binghampton Country Club, Johnson City, N.Y. and his wife Rubie Pruden, a school teacher in Daytona Beach, Fla.

The Roland Alston family was an African American family residing in Durham, North Carolina. The collection comprises nine folders containing transcripts, some edited and some final, of eight oral history interviews Judy Hogan completed with Roland Alston.