LibGuides: Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies: Images

Duke Guide to Finding Scholarly Images

Duke's Visual Studies librarian created the Guide to finding scholarly images, which also includes a discussion about Quality, Scholarly Images for Research, Publication; Scanning Recommendations and Copyright.

Lee Sorensen

Contact:

Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994

SEEES Image Databases

Library of Congress Digital Collections
- Brumfield Collection: photographs of the wooden architecture of the Russian North
- Prokudin-Gorskii Collection: color photographic surveys of the vast Russian Empire made between ca. 1905 and 1915
- Ballets Russes de Serge Diaghilev
- The Grushnikov Collection of Soviet Children's Books
New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Collections
- Hint: search by keywords (in Roman alphabet), then apply filters.
- Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860- 1945
- Collection of Russian and Ukrainian posters, 1917-1921
- Harold M. Fleming Papers: Russian Revolutionary Era Propaganda Posters
- Icons and Images of Cultures: Plate Books from the Russian Empire, Early Soviet Russia, and Eastern Europe, 1730-1935.
- V. F. Timm, Russkii khudozhestvennyi listok (S.-Peterburg: V Tip. N. Grecha, 1851-1862), 12 v. : ill. (some col.)
- Johann Gottlieb Georgi, Opisanie vsekh obitaiushchikh v rossiiskom gosudarstve narodov...(V Sanktpeterburgie: Pri Imperatorskoi Akademii Nauk, 1799), 4 vols. of plates : ill. (chiefly col.) ; 26 cm. Contents: pt. 1. O narodakh finnskago plemeni.--pt. 2. O narodakh tatarskago plemeni.--pt. 3. o narodakh semoiadskikh.--pt. 4. o narodakh mongol'skikh.
- F. G. Solnt͡sev, Drevnosti rossiiskago gosudarstva (Moskva: Tip. A. Semena, 1849-1853), 12 v. in 6 (chromolithographs of Russian antiquities).
- A. V. Viskovatov, Istoricheskoe opisanīe odezhdy i vooruzhenīi͡a Rossīĭskikh voĭsk... (Sanktpeterburg: V Voennoi tip., 1841-1862), only vols. 1 and 2.
Princeton Slavic Digital Collections
- Russian and East European Posters
- Soviet Era Books for Children and Youth
- Early Soviet Illustrated Sheet Music
- Treasures of the Graphic Arts Collection
Columbia University Library Digital Collections
- Russian and early Soviet sheet music: collection of Russian and early Soviet music scores published from 1904 to 1938
- Russian Imperial Corps of Pages: photographs, documents, theater programs, invitations and menus from the Imperial Corps of Pages collection, Bakhmeteff Archive
Hoover Institution Digital Collection (Stanford University)
- Political posters collection (search by country, language or subject)
- Photographs (of Moscow during 1991 coup, and forced labor camps in Noril'sk)
Harvard University Digital Collection
- Soviet Information Bureau Photograph Collection (Fung Library)
  Almost 5,800 black-and-white photos, taken by official Soviet photographers, and intended to document the reconstruction of the Soviet Union following World War II. For a description of the collection’s scope and content, consult the online finding aid.
- Russian Theatre Designs from the Harvard Theatre Collection (Houghton Library)
  Portraits and designs for the ballet, opera, and theater (including works by Leon Bakst, Natalia Goncharova, and Mikhail Larionov).
- Davis Center Library Poster Collection
  Contains about 200 Soviet posters dating from 1919 to the 1990s.
- Soviet Anti-Bureaucracy Posters
  Contains 80 government-commissioned posters lampooning bureaucratic abuses and inefficiencies in the late Soviet period (1950-1991)
- Digital images related to Ukraine
  Collection of 30,000 images – photographs, posters, artworks – related to Ukraine
- Soviet Ukrainian posters
  Collection of 93 posters from Soviet Ukraine (1950s)
- Fontes: Open Access Sources for Ukrainian History
  Database of online, open-access resources (including visual materials) for original research on the history of Ukraine.
Saving Ukrainian Digital Heritage Online (SUCHO) Meme Wall
An open-access, sortable and searchable online archive of internet memes related to the Russo-Ukrainian war.
William C. Brumfield Photographs of Russian Architecture collection (Tulane University Digital Library)
Comprising of over 10,000 photographs depicting Russian architecture and street scenes from 1970 through the 2010s.
William Brumfield Russian Architecture Digital Collection (University of Washington)
Includes 29,000 images of Russian Orthodox churches, mostly buildings constructed from the Middle Ages and the present.
Manhoff Archive (University of Washington Libraries)
Includes 300 photographs and color film footage of late Stalinist Russia.
Blavatnik Archive (Blavatnik Archive Foundation)
Digitized collections of postcards, photos, and posters on 20th-century Jewish and world history, with a special emphasis on World War I, World War II, and Soviet Russia. Includes visual propaganda and items from everyday life in the USSR (1917-1941).
Visual News Sources (East Coast Consortium of Slavic Library Collections)
Online "Guide to Open Access Digitized Historical News Sources from Slavic, East European and Eurasian countries" includes TV news shows, newsreels, photojournalism.
Polish Posters Collection (Central Connecticut State University)
Includes 455 posters covering the subjects of film, theater, circus, art, music, social, political and cultural events, designed between 1960s and 1980s.
Soviet Posters (International Institute of Social History)
Includes 33 posters (1919-1938)
Russian and Soviet posters (Joint project between Russian State Library and Iu. M. Lotman Institute of Russian and Soviet Culture of the Ruhr University Bochum)
Making the History of 1989 (German Historical Institute (Washington, D.C.); National Endowment for the Humanities; Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media)
Collection of 24 late-Soviet and late-Communist East European posters
История России в фотографиях (History of Russia in Photographs)
A collection of historical photos (1840-1999) from various museum and personal collections, organized by various themes...
Госкаталог (Museum Fund of the Russian Federation)
Database containing descriptions of the holdings of all the Russian museums listed in the Russian Federation's Museum Fund.
Государственый исторический музей (Russian State Historical Museum)
Database of the objects held by Moscow's State Historical Museum (including items not yet included in the Goskatalog)
Музей Академии художеств (Museum of the Russian Academy of Arts)
Database of objects held by the Museum of the Russian Academy of Arts (including items not yet included in the Goskatalog)

General Image Databases with SEEES content

Digital Public Library of America: digitized resources (texts, images, maps) from many American libraries, including LOC and NYPL. Russia and Eastern Europe are well represented. Search by keyword (in Roman alphabet only), then use filters.
Europeana: digital library featuring holdings from libraries, museums, and archives across Europe, including Russia and Eastern Europe.
Ornamika: online archive of ornament and design, sourced from museum collections worldwide. Interface in Russian and English.
Gallica: digital holdings from the collections of the French National Library. Interface in several languages (change language at upper right corner). Powerful full-text search, including Cyrillic.
British Museum: digital colleciton includes Russian prints, some drawings. Searching in Roman alphabet only, spelling varies.

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies

Duke Guide to Finding Scholarly Images

SEEES Image Databases

General Image Databases with SEEES content

Contact Us

Services for...