Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies

Tips for conducting a search in the Duke University Libraries online catalog:

1) Use standardized language (Library of Congress Subject Headings; follow links for similar titles):

2) In Advanced Search, limit to date, language, or format (e.g. "Videos and DVDs")
3) Search using truncation (e.g. wom*n and russia*)
4) Search for Russian words using Library of Congress Romanization Table

Conduct a search in the following online catalogs:

• Triangle Research Library Network (TRLN) -- searchable catalog of the holdings of Duke, UNC-CH, NCCU, NCSU libraries.
• WorldCat -- searchable electronic union catalog listing more than 40 million records owned by libraries around the world.
• Russian and East European Online Library Catalogs (IU) -- search the union catalogs of Russian and East European libraries
• Directory of Open Access Books -- Over 60,500 academic peer-reviewed books online.

Then use the library's Document Delivery Services to request the item you seek.

• ProQuest dissertations & theses global 
• DukeSpace: Theses and dissertations 
• Center for Research Libraries Dissertations

• EThOS: E-theses online service (British Library) 
  Search over 500,000 doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily.
• University Theses in Russian, Soviet, and East European Studies (UTREES)
  Bibliographical database of British and Irish university theses in Russian and East European studies, with links to full texts of over 5,800 doctoral and masters’ theses. Coverage: 1907–present  
• Dissertations Library of the Russian State Library (in Russian)
  To start a search follow the link, choose «Искусствоведение» or «Культурология» in the drop-down list, then tick off "Искать только в Открытой электронной библиотеки диссертаций (ОЭБД)", and press the button «Искать». As a result, you will get a list of titles freely available for online view and downloading.
• Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD.org) provides a simple way for users to search a global collection of openly accessible electronic theses and dissertations (ETD) literature. The service currently includes references to ETDs from more than 600 universities around the world.
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
  Search across 47 open access electronic theses and dissertation repositories from around the world (the individual repositories listed here).