Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Guide
This guide provides a list of major resources available through the Divinity Library to assist in parish and denominational studies. It provides coverage for some of the main denominations studied at Duke: Anglican/Episcopal, Bapist, Catholic, and Methodist. Resources are also provided for undertaking the care of a parish and engaging in church leadership.
Table of Contents
Care of Parish
This page provides resources about church ministry, including pastoral theology, maintaining the church, and Christian leadership.
This page provides resources relevant to the study of the Anglican/Episcopal church.
This page provides a list of resources for studying the Baptist denomination of Christianity.
This page provides resources for studying the Roman Catholic church.
This page provides resources for studying Methodism.
ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database is a great resource to begin exploring for peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in religious studies. It contains a wide scope of material concerning all aspects of religion, including the many denominations of Christianity.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Contains primary texts of an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. Includes theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors
A Handbook of Churches and Councils
This handbook, published in 2006, contains a listing of most major church denominations and church councils all around the globe. It organizes entries by country, and provides some brief background information on each denomination and includes information such as major publications and membership numbers.
Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches
Much like the Handbook of Churches and Councils, the Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches provides information on churches, councils, and other religious organizations in America and Canada. Although it does not have the global reach of the Handbook, this provides much more specialized information on programs and publications and can serve as a great springboard to further research.
Divinity School Databases
This page contains annotated links to several databases available to Duke students that are particularly useful for religious studies. Browse the list and see if there is a database that might be relevant to your specific information needs.