Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Search using "Pastoral theology", "Evangelistic work", or "Church Administration, Management, and Leadership"
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature. Search using "Pastoral theology", "Evangelistic work", or "Christian leadership."
Ministry Matters provides access to a number of reference works, such as commentaries and Bible dictionaries, to aid in preparing sermons and lessons.
Other Divinity Research Guides
Check our other guides for information on related topics, since as ministerial studies or church history.
Recent internet resources added on the subject of "Church ministry" See more bookmarks at our Delicious page.
Search for Books
Here are some examples of subject headings that can be used when searching for books on care of parish in Duke's library catalog or in other library catalogs via WorldCat. Use the facets on the left hand side of the search results page to further refine results.
New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies
Call Number: Ref BV4005.5 .N49 2002 in Divinity
The New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies provides definitions for hundreds of terms and concepts related to pastoral work. Typically entries are given a very brief definition, followed by a longer explanation with more detail. This is a great reference for studying the theology and methods of pastoral studies.
Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling
Call Number: Ref BV4011.3 .D53 2005 in Divinity
This is the expanded edition to 1990's original Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling. This dictionary provides a wealth of information related to pastoral theology and counseling. Articles range from brief definitions to entries that are more encyclopedic, complete with bibliography for further research. Additionally, a few general articles are provided at the end for further insight into special topics in pastoral care and counseling. A great resource to consult when performing in-depth research. Also available electronically.
New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology
Call Number: Ref BJ1199 .N495 1995 at Divinity and Lilly
This dictionary provides detailed definitions for a variety of topics related to Christian ethics and pastoral theology. Longer entries are broken up into distinct, organized sections and all entries provide a bibliography. This is an excellent resource to consult because of its detail, but the focus of the work tends toward ethics more than theology, so the other dictionaries may be better to consult for more specific needs.