LibGuides: Middle East Visual Culture: Getting Started

Ibraaz: Forum on Visual Culture in N. Africa and the Middle East

Ibraaz is the leading critical forum on visual culture in North Africa and the Middle East. Initiated by the Kamel Lazaar Foundation, it was launched at the 54th Venice Biennale.

Ibraaz now publishes edited readers in print and runs public programmes at institutions across the globe. Ibraaz has an editorial policy that addresses the formal and conceptual issues underwriting art as a practice and how artists work. In addition, Ibraaz aims to explore how such practices address and reflect upon the complexities of contemporary life and art practices across North Africa and the Middle East.

Noteworthy Article

50 Years of Self-Representation in Saudi Women’s Art by Adnan Z. Manjal (4/2015)

Noteworthy Title

Gruber, Christiane J. and Sune Haugbolle.: Visual culture in the modern Middle East : rhetoric of the image.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2013.
Lilly Library NX180.S6 V475 2013 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Table of Contents: Part I. "Moving" images -- Images of the Prophet Muhammad in and out of modernity : the curious case of a 2008 mural in Tehran / Christiane Gruber -- Secular domesticities, Shiite modernities : Khomeini's illustrated Tawzih al-Masail / Pamela Karimi -- Memory and ideology : images of Saladin in Syria and Iraq / Stefan Heidemann -- "You will (not) be able to take your eyes off it!" : mass-mediated images and politico-ethical reform in the Egyptian Islamic revival / Patricia Kubala -- Part 2. Islamist iconographies -- The Muslim "crying boy" in Turkey : aestheticization and politicization of suffering in Islamic imagination / Özlem Sava -- The new happy child in Islamic picture books in Turkey / Umut Azak -- Sadrabiliyya : the visual narrative of Muqtada al-Sadr's Islamist politics and insurgency in Iraq / Ibrahim Al-Marashi -- The martyr's fading body : propaganda vs. beautification in the Tehran cityscape / Ulrich Marzolph -- Part 3. Satirical contestations -- Pushing! out Islam : cartoons of the reform period in Turkey (1923-1930) / Yasemin Gencer -- Blasphemy or critique? : secularists and Islamists in Turkish cartoon images / John VanderLippe and Pinar Batur -- Naji al-Ali and the iconography of Arab secularism / Sune Haugbolle -- Part 4. Authenticity and reality in trans-national broadcasting -- Arab television drama production and the Islamic public sphere / Christa Salamandra -- Saudi-Islamist rhetorics about visual culture / Marwan Kraidy.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Bloom, Jonathan M. and Sheila S. Blair (eds.): The Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
Lilly Library N6260 .G75 2009 v.1-3 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: v. 1. Abarquh to Dawlat Qatar -- v. 2. Delhi to Mosque -- v. 3. Mosul to Zirid.
Online Version in Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Leaman, Oliver: Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film
London ; New York : Routledge, 2001
Lilly Library Reference 791.4375 C737, 2001 Check availability @ Duke

Özgüç, Agâh, 1935-: Türk film yönetmenleri sözlüğü.
Taksim, İstanbul : Agora, 2003.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.T8 O267 2003 Check availability @ Duke

Soliman, Ismail Baha'a Eddeen.: Encyclopedia of the big screen : English - Arabic, with illustrations : history, technology, equipent, schools, theories, semiology / موسوعة الشاشة الكبيرة : إنجليزي - عربي، موضحة بالرسوم : تاريخ، تقنيات، معدات، مدارس، نظريات، سيميائيات،
Beirut: Librarie du Liban Publishers, 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room PN1993.45 .S65 2012x Check availability @ Duke

Selected Bibliographies

Annual bibliography of Islamic art and archaeology, India excepted..: Jerusalem: Divan Publishing House.
Library Service Center 297 A615 1+3(1935-1937)
Check availability @ Duke

Creswell, K. A. C.: A bibliography of the architecture, arts, and crafts of Islam to 1st Jan. 1960.
Cairo: American University at Cairo Press, 1961.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room N6260 .C747 1961 Check availability @ Duke

Creswell, K. A. C.: A bibliography of the architecture, arts, and crafts of Islam, supplement Jan. 1960 to Jan. 1972.
Cairo: American University in Cairo Press, 1973.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room N6260 .P437 1973 Check availability @ Duke

Creswell, K. A. C. and J.D. Pearson.: A bibliography of the architecture, arts, and crafts of Islam by Sir K.A.C. Creswell, C.B.E. Second supplement, Jan. 1972 to Dec. 1980 (with omissions from previous years).
Cairo: American University in Cairo Press, 1984.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room N6260 .P437 1984 Check availability @ Duke

Related Guides

Databases

Find Images in:

AP Images
ArchNet
ARTstor
Flickr.com (free)
Visual Media Collections at Duke (formerly MDID@Duke)
Camio
Artnet.com
JSTOR [Select 'Advanced Search'; then make sure that you select 'caption' as the field to be searched from the drop-down list.]
Insight Visual Collections

Online Resources

Bibliography: Islamic/Middle Eastern Art & Visual Culture

Al-Ali, Nadje and Deborah Al-Najjar (eds.).: We are Iraqis : aesthetics and politics in a time of war.
Syracuse: Syracuse U. P., 2012
Lilly Library NX180.P64 W4 2012 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: What every driver must know / Alise Alousi -- Bifurcations of Iraq's visual culture / Nada Shabout -- A barbarian in Rome: excerpts from a diary / Sinan Antoon -- Putting contemporary Iraqi art on the map: a conversation with Maysaloun Faraj / Nadje Al-Ali -- The assassination of Iraqi academic life: a personal testimony / Saad N. Jawad -- My own private Munich / Dahlia Petrus -- Hassan Abdulrazzak: a selection / Hassan Abdulrazzak -- Reframing Sunni and Shii discussions / Yara Badday -- Invisible mirror: aggression and the thumb-generation response / Wafaa Bilal -- Iraq: a long phantasmagorical dream for those who are not part of the new capitalism or retired communism / Ali Bader -- Migratory sacred spaces: (re)creating ʻAshūrāʼ -- Dena Al-Adeeb -- Liberal mass media (mis)communication and Iraqi (dis)connections / Celia Shallal -- Sophisticated ways: destruction of an ancient city / Nadje Al-Ali -- My trips to the unknown / Maki Al Nazzal -- A tale of two exiles ! / Sama Alshaibi -- 1001 nights / Jananne Al-Ani -- Arab-Jews, diasporas, and multicultural feminism: a conversation with Ella Habiba Shohat / Evelyn Azeeza Alsultany -- A film-training project for young Iraqis / Maysoon Pachachi -- Lyrical resistance: the example of Saadi Youssef / Ferial J. Ghazoul -- Larsa / Dunya Mikhail -- Ur's echo: cosmopolitans and radical loss / Rashad Salim -- Identity of the numbers / Irada Al-Jabbouri.

Ådahl, Karin and Mikael Ahlund.: Islamic art collections : an international survey.
Richmond, Surrey: Curzon, 2000.
Lilly Library N6260 .I85 2000 Check availability @ Duke

Amirsadeghi, Hossein, Nada Shabout et al. (eds.): New vision : Arab contemporary art in the 21st century.
London: Thames & Hudson, 2009.
Lilly Library N7265.3 .N49 2009 Check availability @ Duke

Azoulay, Ariella.: The civil contract of photography.
New York; Cambridge, Mass.: Zone Books; Distributed by The MIT Press, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Library TR147 .A96 2008 Check availability @ Duke

Azoulay, Ariella.: Civil imagination : a political ontology of photography.
London ; New York: Verso, 2012.
Lilly Library TR187 .A98313 2012
Perkins/Bostock Library TR187 .A98313 2012 Check availability @ Duke

Bailey, David A. and Gilane Tawadros (eds.): Veil : Veiling, Representation and Contemporary Art.
London: Institute of International Visual Arts in association with Modern Art Oxford, 2003.
Lilly Library GT2112 .V45 2003 Check availability @ Duke

Behdad, Ali and Luke Gartlan (eds.): Photography's Orientalism : new essays on colonial representation.
Los Angeles: Getty Research Institute, 2013.
Lilly Library NX650.E85 P49 2013 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: The Orientalist photograph / Ali Behdad -- What's photography got to do with it? / Christopher Pinney -- The limits of circumscription / Mary Roberts -- Alternative histories of photography in the Ottoman Middle East / Nancy Micklewright -- Off the frame: the panoramic city albums of Istanbul / Esra Akcan -- Two or three dimensions? scale, photography, and Egypt's pyramids / Darcy Grimaldo Grigsby -- Dandies on the pyramids: photography and German-speaking artists in Cairo / Luke Gartlan -- Flash forward: pictures at war / Hannah Feldman -- Travel albums and revisioning narratives: a case study in the Getty's Fleury "cachemire" album of 1908 / Rob Linrothe -- The mute testimony of the picture: British paper photography and India / John Tagg.

Blair, Sheila.: The art and architecture of Islam 1250-1800.
New Haven [Conn.] : Yale University Press, 1994.
Lilly Reference N5300 .P456 v.3 Check availability @ Duke

Blair, Sheila.: Islamic calligraphy.
Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2006.
Lilly Library NK3636.5.A2 B53 2006 Check availability @ Duke

Broug, Eric.: Islamic geometric design.
New York ; London: Thames & Hudson Ltd., 2013.
Lilly Library NK1270 .B75 2013
Check availability @ Duke

Carboni, Stefano.: Glass from Islamic lands.
New York; [Kuwait]: Thames & Hudson; [Published] in association with the al-Sabah Collection, Dal al-Athar al-Islamiyyah, Kuwait National Museum, 2001.
Lilly Library NK5103.S23 C37 2001 Check availability @ Duke

Chaudhuri, Shohini: Contemporary world cinema : Europe, the Middle East, East Asia and South Asia
Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press, 2005
Lilly Library PN1994 .C34348 2005 Check availability @ Duke

Contadini, Anna (ed.): Arab painting : text and image in illustrated Arabic manuscripts.
Boston: Brill, 2010.
Lilly Library ND2955 .A73 2010 Check availability @ Duke
Arab painting, preserved mainly in manuscript illustrations of the 12th to 14th centuries, is here treated as an artistic corpus fully deserving of appreciation in its own terms, and not as a mere precursor to Persian painting. The book assembles papers by a distinguished list of scholars that illuminate the variety of material that survives in scientific as well as literary manuscripts. Because of the contexts in which the paintings appear, a major theoretical concern is, precisely, the relationship of painting to text. It rejects earlier scholarly habits of analysing paintings in isolation, and proposes the integration of text and image as a more satisfactory framework within which to elucidate the characteristics and functions of this impressive body of work. This second, revised edition includes addenda and corrigenda.

Daftari, Fereshteh and Layla S. Diba (eds.): Iran modern.
New York, NY: Asia Society in association with Yale University Press, 2013.
Lilly Library NX574.A1 I73 2013 Check availability @ Duke; Table of Contents: Iranian History 1945-79 / Houchang Chehabi -- Historiography of Modern Iranian Art / Hamid Keshmirshekan -- Redefining Modernism: Pluralist Art Before the 1979 Revolution / Fereshteh Daftari -- The Formation of Modern Iranian Art: From Kamal-al-Molk to Zenderoudi / Layla S. Diba -- A Short History of Art Exhibitions in Iran, 1946-78 / Media Farzin -- Modern Iranian Architecture, 1941-79 / Nader Ardalan -- Interview with Kamran Diba / Nagar Azimi -- Perspectives on the Shiraz Arts Festival: A Radical Third World Rewriting / Vali Mahlouji -- KA MOUNTAIN AND GUARDenia TERRACE: A Story about a Family and Some People Changing, a 168 Hour Play for the 1972 Festival of Shiraz / Robert Wilson -- A Remarkable Oversight: Iranian Art Photography of the 1960s and 1970s / Hamid Severi -- Works in the Exhibition -- Historical Documents -- Foreword, Inaugural Tehran Biennial Catalogue, 1958 / Ehsan Yarshater -- Foreword, Tehran Biennial Catalogue, 1966 / Director General of Cultural ! Relations--Ministry of Culture and the Arts -- "Why Persian Carpets Fly! An art expert hits Iran to find out--and a lot more you need to know" / Arne Glimcher -- "Saqqakhaneh School Revisited" from Saqqakhaneh, 1977 / Karim Emami -- "The Saqqa-Khaneh" from Saqqakhaneh, 1977 / Peter Lamborn Wilson.

Eigner, Saeb.: Art of the Middle East : modern and contemporary art of the Arab world and Iran.
London ; New York: Merrell, 2010.
Lilly Library N7265 .E44 2010 Check availability @ Duke

El Hamamsy, Walid and Mounira Soliman (eds.): Popular culture in the Middle East and North Africa : a postcolonial outlook.
New York: Routledge, 2013.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS57 .P66 2013 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Introduction: popular culture: a site of resistance / Walid El Hamamsy and Mounira Soliman -- Popular culture and the aesthetics of political resistance. Palestinian rap: against the struggle paradigm / Ted Swedenburg -- Music Sans Frontieres?: documentaries on hip hop in the Holy Land and DIY democracy / Caroline Rooney -- Rai: North Africa's music of the working class / John A. Shoup -- Gender politics, the popular, social resistance. Masculinity and fatherhood within a Lebanese Muslim community: Assad Fouladkar's When Maryam spoke out / Dalia Said Mostafa -- Photo-tattoo as postmodern veil: photography and the inscription of subjectivity on the female body / Walid El Khachab -- Dancing without my body: cultural integration in the Middle East / Nadra Majeed Assaf -- Tradition and the popular: new forms and trends. Satellite piety: contemporary TV Islamic programs in Egypt / Omaima Abou-Bakr -- B??ra: the veiled protagonist of a comic serial / Iren Ozgur -- The Yacoub! ian building and its sisters: reflections on readership and written culture in modern Egypt / Richard Jacquemond -- Tradition and modernity: the globalization of Sufi music in Egypt / Michael Frishkopf -- Cultural hegemony: popular representations of the Middle East in the US. American Orientalism after Said / John Carlos Rowe -- Barbaric space: portrayal of Arab lands in Hollywood films / Hania A. M. Nashef -- Alternating images: simulacra of ideology in Egyptian advertisements / Maha El Said -- Popular culture and revolution: the voice of dissent. The role of new media in the Egyptian Revolution of 2011: visuality as an agent of change / Randa Aboubakr -- The aesthetics of revolution: popular creativity and the Egyptian Spring / Walid El Hamamsy and Mounira Soliman.

Ettinghausen, Richard.: Islamic art and architecture 650-1250.
New Haven, CT : Yale University Press, 2001.
Lilly Reference N5300 .P455 v.51, 2nd ed Check availability @ Duke

Grabar, Oleg.: Early Islamic art, 650-1100.
Aldershot, England ; Burlington, VT: Ashgate/Variorum, 2005.
Lilly Library N6260 .G688 2005 Check availability @ Duke

Grabar, Oleg.: Islamic visual culture, 1100-1800.
Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2006.
Lilly Library N6260 .G6915 2006 Check availability @ Duke

Grabar, Oleg.: The mediation of ornament.
Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 1992.
Lilly Library N6260 .G692 1992 Check availability @ Duke

Gröndahl, Mia.: Gaza graffiti : messages of love and politics.
Cairo ; New York: American University in Cairo Press, 2009.
Perkins/Bostock Library GT3913.81.G39 G76 2009 Check availability @ Duke


Gröndahl, Mia.: Revolution graffiti : street art of the new Egypt.
Cairo: American University in Cairo Press, 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Library GT3913.83.A2 G766 2013 Check availability @ Duke

Gruber, Christiane J. and Sune Haugbolle.: Visual culture in the modern Middle East : rhetoric of the image.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2013.
Lilly Library NX180.S6 V475 2013 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Table of Contents: Part I. "Moving" images -- Images of the Prophet Muhammad in and out of modernity : the curious case of a 2008 mural in Tehran / Christiane Gruber -- Secular domesticities, Shiite modernities : Khomeini's illustrated Tawzih al-Masail / Pamela Karimi -- Memory and ideology : images of Saladin in Syria and Iraq / Stefan Heidemann -- "You will (not) be able to take your eyes off it!" : mass-mediated images and politico-ethical reform in the Egyptian Islamic revival / Patricia Kubala -- Part 2. Islamist iconographies -- The Muslim "crying boy" in Turkey : aestheticization and politicization of suffering in Islamic imagination / Özlem Sava -- The new happy child in Islamic picture books in Turkey / Umut Azak -- Sadrabiliyya : the visual narrative of Muqtada al-Sadr's Islamist politics and insurgency in Iraq / Ibrahim Al-Marashi -- The martyr's fading body : propaganda vs. beautification in the Tehran cityscape / Ulrich Marzolph -- Part 3. Satirical contestations -- Pushing! out Islam : cartoons of the reform period in Turkey (1923-1930) / Yasemin Gencer -- Blasphemy or critique? : secularists and Islamists in Turkish cartoon images / John VanderLippe and Pinar Batur -- Naji al-Ali and the iconography of Arab secularism / Sune Haugbolle -- Part 4. Authenticity and reality in trans-national broadcasting -- Arab television drama production and the Islamic public sphere / Christa Salamandra -- Saudi-Islamist rhetorics about visual culture / Marwan Kraidy.

Hagedorn, Annette et al. (eds.): Facts and artefacts : art in the Islamic world : festschrift for Jens Kröger on his 65th birthday.
Leiden ; Boston: Brill, 2007.
Library Service Center N6260 .F27 2007 Check availability @ Duke

Haus der Kulturen der Welt: DisORIENTation : contemporary Arab artists from the Middle East : literature, film, performance, music, theatre, visual arts = Zeitgenossische arabische Kunstler aus dem Nahen Osten
Berlin : Haus der Kulturen der Welt, 2003
Lilly Library 700.904 D612, 2003 Check availability @ Duke

Jones, Rachel Bailey.: (Re)thinking orientalism : using graphic narratives to teach critical visual literacy.
New York: Peter Lang, 2014
Perkins/Bostock Library DS61.85 .J66 2014Check availability @ Duke

Khatib, Lina.: Image politics in the Middle East : the role of the visual in political struggle.
London ; New York: I.B. Tauris, 2013.
Perkins/Bostock Library JA85.2.M628 K438 2013 Check availability @ Duke

Lemke, Wolf-Dieter.: Staging the Orient : fin de siècle popular visions = Représentations de l'Orient : imagerie populaire fin de siècle.
Beirut : Editions Dar An-Nahar, 2004.
Lilly Library N8217.E88 L46 2004 Check availability @ Duke

Maasri, Zeina.: Off the wall : political posters of the Lebanese Civil War.
London ; New York; New York: I.B. Tauris; Distributed in the USA by Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
Lilly Library NC1806.8 .M33 2009 Check availability @ Duke

Makhoul, Bashir and Aissa Deebi.: Bashir Makhoul, Aissa Deebi : otherwise occupied.
Jerusalem ; Venice: Palestinian Art Court -- al Hoash, 2013.
Lilly Library NB979.M34 V45 2013 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: [1] Acknowledgements. -- [2] Preface: Otherwise Occupied / Bruce Ferguson. -- [3] Introduction: The garden and the trial as camouflage / Ryan Bishop and Gordon Hon. -- [4] Otherwise representational: the risk of nations without states / Rawan Sharef. -- [5] The unachieved state of a busy garden / Jonathan Harris. -- [6] The return / Sarah Rogers. -- [7] A self without guarantees: thoughts on pain in the work of Aissa Deebi / Anneka Lenssen. -- [8] The fantasy of an unoccupied community / Valentin Roma. -- [9] Material occupations / Sheila Crane. -- [10] Gaza is everywhere / Steve Graham. -- [11] Between the castle and the village / John Beck. -- [12] Contributors' notes.

Makhoul, Bashir.: Palestinian video art : constellation of the moving image.
Jerusalem: Palestinian Art Court -- al Hoash, 2013
Lilly Library N7277.5.V53 P35 2013 Check availability @ Duke

Melis, Wim.: Nazar : photographs from the Arab world.
New York : Aperture ; London : Thames & Hudson [distributor], 2005.
Lilly Library TR114 .N39 2004 Check availability @ Duke

Mirzoeff, Nicholas.: Watching Babylon : the war in Iraq and global visual culture.
New York ; London: Routledge, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock HM500 .M58 2004 Check availability @ Duke

Özendes, Engin.: From Sébah & Joaillier to Foto Sabah : orientalism in photography.
İstanbul: YKY, 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library TR112.S42 O99 2004
Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Winds of orientalism in Europe -- Improved travelling conditions -- Life in the East -- Orientalism in photography -- Family tree -- Pascal Sébah and El Chark -- 1873, year of achievements -- The death of Pascal Sebah -- Sébah and Joaillier is born -- Postcards and souvenirs albums -- Hagop Iskender and Perpignani -- Studio cards

Porter, Venetia.: The art of Hajj.
London: British Museum Press, 2012.
Library Service Center N6260 .P67 2012 Check availability @ Duke; Summary: The annual ritual pilgrimage to Makkah was established by the Prophet Muhammad in the last year of his life (AD 632). Over the following centuries the experience and importance of Hajj have been evocatively documented in countless ways. Highlighting the pilgrims' journey across time, the sacred rituals of Hajj, and the city of Makkah itself, this beautiful little book features illuminated manuscripts, wall paintings and photographs, as well as calligraphy, textiles, scientific instruments, decorative tiles, maps, ceramics, metalwork and powerful works by contemporary artists. Published to coincide with a major exhibition at the British Museum, from 26 January to 15 April 2012.

Porter, Venetia.: Word into art : artists of the modern Middle East.
London : British Museum Press, 2006.
Lilly Library N7265 .P67 2006 Check availability @ Duke

Rogers, Sarah A. and Eline van der Vlist (eds.).: Arab art histories : the Khalid Shoman Collection.
Amman, Jordan: Khalid Shoman Foundation, 2013.
Lilly Library N7265.3 .A72 2013 Check availability @ Duke

Roques, Karin Adrian von, et al.: Lughāt al-ṣaḥrāʻ = Sprachen der Wüste : zeitgenössische arabische Kunst aus den Golfstaaten = Languages of the desert : contemporary Arab art from the Gulf States.
Köln : DuMont, 2005.
Library Service Center N7265.5 .L844 2005 Check availability @ Duke

Roxburgh, David J. (ed.): Turks : a journey of a thousand years, 600-1600.
London; New York: Royal Academy of Arts; Distributed in the U.S. and Canada by Harry N. Abrams, 2005.
Lilly Library N7161 .T87 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: The Turks: a historical overview / Peter B. Golden -- Religions of the Turks in the pre-Islamic period / Peter Zieme -- The Turks: a chronology / Peter B. Golden -- 1. CENTRAL ASIA, 600-1000 -- Chinese Central Asia (Xinjiang): its peoples and its culture / Marianne Yaldiz -- 2. THE SELJUKS OF IRAN AND THEIR SUCCESSORS -- The emergence of Turkic dynastic presence in the Islamic world: cultural experiences and artistic horizons, 950-1250 / Oya Pancaroǧlu -- 3. THE SELJUKS AND ARTUQIDS OF MEDIEVAL ANATOLIA -- The Anatolian Seljuks / Nazan Ölçer -- 4. MUHAMMAD OF THE BLACK PEN AND HIS PAINTINGS -- Glimpses into the fourteenth-century Turkic world of Central Asia: the paintings of Muhammad Siyah Qalam / Filiz Çaǧman -- 5. THE TIMURIDS AND TURKMEN -- The Timurid and Turkmen dynasties of Iran, Afghanistan and Central Asia, c. 1370-1506 / David J. Roxburgh -- 6. THE OTTOMANS: FROM MEHMED II TO MURAD III -- Art of the Otooman court / Serpil Baǧci, Zeren Tanindi -- CATALOG! UE ENTRIES -- The Ottoman sultans as poets / Mustafa Isen -- The Turkic languages / Osman Fikri Sertkaya.

Ruggles, D. Fairchild (ed.): Islamic Art and Visual Culture : An Anthology of Sources.
Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Lilly Library N6260 .I823 2011 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Foundations: religious, political, Juridical, and administrative documents from early Islam and place in transition -- Behavior, gifts, treasuries, and collections -- Art -- Space: architecture and urbanism -- Places.

Sabea, Hanan (ed.): Visual productions of knowledge : toward a different Middle East.
Cairo papers in social science ; v. 31, no. 3/4
Cairo: American University in Cairo, 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Library HM500 .A239 2012 Check availability @ Duke
1. Beyond the Written: Visual Productions and Sensory Knowledge (Hanan Sabea and Mark R. Westmoreland) (p. 1) I. January 25: Visual Knowledge of an Event 2. A Place Called Tahrir (Sabelo Narasimhan) (p. 12) II. Photographic Practices and the Egyptian Imaginary 3. "No Ideas But in Things": A Documentary Art Short on Message (Yasser Alwan) (p. 32) 4. Evidence of What? The Photographic Archive and Its Problematics (Heba Farid) (p. 53) 5. Intersecting Photography with Text: Reflections on a Working Process (Mona Abaza) (p. 79) 6. Epistemology of Photographic Evidence: A Response (Angela Harutyunyan) (p. 95) IIII. Epistemological Intersections: Anthropology and Art 7. Knowledge Production and the Visual Medium (Fadwa El Guindi) (p. 108) 8. In This Field: Akram Zaatari's Ethnographic Excavations (Mark R. Westmoreland) (p. 124) 9. From Archive to Art Film: A Palestinian Aesthetics of Memory Reviewed (Diana Allan) (p. 145) 10. 'Imaging Memory': Conflations of Time and Space, and Contestations of Epistemological 'Truth,' in Visual Art and Ethnography (Elizabeth Wickett) (p. 167) IV. Doing Anthropology of Visual Culture and Doing Anthropology Visually 11. Past and Future Pathways of Culture: Cinematic Representations of Kurds and the Kurdish Issue in Turkish Media Worlds (Suncem Kocer) (p. 184) 12. A Film Exploration of Sanayeh, a Neighborhood of Beirut (Pascale Féghali) (p. 205) About the Contributors (p. 226)

Scheiwiller, Staci Gem (ed.): Performing the Iranian state : visual culture and representations of Iranian identity.
London, UK ; New York, NY: Anthem Press, 2013.
Lilly Library NX180.S6 P444 2013 Check availability @ Duke

Schwartz, Lowell et al.: Artists and the Arab uprisings.
Santa Monica, CA: RAND, 2013.
Lilly Library NX180.P64 S39 2013 Check availability @ Duke

Shabout, Nada M. (curator): Interventions : a dialogue between the modern and the contemporary.
Milano; Doha: Skira; Mathaf Arab Museum of modern art, 2010.
Lilly Library N7265.3 .I58 2010 Check availability @ Duke

Shabout, Nada M.: Modern Arab art : formation of Arab aesthetics.
Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2007.
Lilly Library N7265.3 .S53 2007 Check availability @ Duke
"Although the politics of Arab identity are complicated and problematized by all sorts of historical issues, this study analyzes the "representation" of this identity in terms of art and aesthetics. Geographically, the focus is on Arabic-speaking countries of the Middle East and North Africa. Since Arab identities are continuously contested and negotiated in relation to diaspora and transmigration, this study includes a few examples that have influenced the development of art in the Arab world. The present study consists of three parts that deal with the formation and development of distinct modern Arab aesthetics, particularly in contrast to the Islamic." (From the introduction)

Shafik, Viola: Arab cinema : history and cultural identity
Cairo, Egypt : American University in Cairo Press, 1998
Lilly Library PN1993.5.A65 S5313 1998 Check availability @ Duke

Shirazi, Faegheh (ed.): Muslim women in war and crisis : representation and reality.
Austin: University of Texas Press, 2010.
Perkins/Bostock Library HQ1170 .M8475 2010 Check availability @ Duke

Sinclair, Susan et al. (eds.): Bibliography of art and architecture in the Islamic world.
Leiden ; Boston: Brill, 2012.
Lilly Library N6260 .B53 2012 v.1-2 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Following the tradition and style of the acclaimed Index Islamicus, the editors have created this new Bibliography of Art and Architecture in the Islamic World. The editors have surveyed and, in many cases, annotated a wide range of books and articles from collected volumes and journals published in all European languages (except Turkish) between 1906 and 2011. The editors have ensured that material from a wide range of scholarly traditions and approaches has been consulted in order to make this comprehensive bibliography an indispensable tool for everyone involved in the study of material culture in Muslim societies.

Sloman, Paul (ed.): Contemporary art in the Middle East.
London: Black Dog, 2009.
Lilly Library N7265.3 .C667 2009 Check availability @ Duke

Sutton, Daud.: Islamic design : a genius for geometry.
New York: Walker & Co., 2007.
Lilly Library NC715 .S88 2007 Check availability @ Duke

Vernoit, Stephen.: Discovering Islamic art : scholars, collectors and collections 1850-1950.
London : I. B. Tauris, 2000.
Lilly Library N6260 .D58 2000 Check availability @ Duke

Watriss, Wendy.: View from inside : contemporary Arab photography, video and mixed media art.
Houston, Texas, USA; Amsterdam, NL: FotoFest; Schilt Publishing, 2014.
Lilly Library TR646.A65 W37 2014 Check availability @ Duke

Word of God, Art of Man: the Qur'an and Its Creative Expressions (2003 : London, England): Word of God, art of man : the Qur'an and its creative expressions : selected proceedings from the International Colloquium, London, 18-21 October 2003.
Oxford: Oxford University Press in association with the Institute of Ismaili Studies, 2007.
Divinity School Library BP131 .W67 2007 Check availability @ Duke

Zuhur, Sherifa (ed.): Images of enchantment : visual and performing arts of the Middle East.
Cairo, Egypt : American University in Cairo Press, c1998.
Lilly Library NX573 .I43 1998 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Introduction / Sherifa Zuhur -- Changing images and shifting identities : female performers in Egypt / Karin van Nieuwkerk -- Women’s performance in ritual context : wedding among the Rashayda of Sudan / William Young -- Folk music and dance in the Arabian Gulf and Saudi Arabia / Kay Hardy Campbell -- A procession through time: the Zaffat al-ʻarusa in three views -- Asmahan : Arab musical performance and musicianship under the myth / Sherifa Zuhur -- Performance, political identity, and memory : Umm Kulthum and Gamal 'Abd al-Nasir / Virginia Danielson -- Western classical music in Umm Kulthum’s country / Selim Sednaoui -- The music of Arab Americans : aesthetics and performance in a new land / Anne Rasmussen -- Beyond the performance / Simon Shaheen -- Gender and politics in contemporary art : Arab women empower the image / Salwa M. Nashashibi -- The artist’s voice / Chaibia Talal -- Imagery and invention : Sudanese at home and in the world conversations with Mohamed Omer Bushara and Musa Khalifa / Sondra Hale -- Image and experience : why cinema? / Farida Ben Lyazid -- Victims or actors? centering women in Egyptian commercial film / Sherifa Zuhur -- Iranian cinema under the Islamic Republic / Hamid Naficy -- Reverse imagery : Middle Eastern themes in Hollywood / Rebecca Stone -- Farida Fahmy and the dancer's image in Egyptian film / Marjorie Franken -- Terrorism and Kabab : a Capraesque view of modern Egypt / Walter Armbrust.